Dates (University Almanac)

On this page:

Open days and visit days

Undergraduate open days 16 - 17 June 2023
Undergraduate campus tours October - December 2022
Postgraduate virtual open events (academic) 21 November - 9 December 2022
Postgraduate virtual open events (central services) 23 - 27 January 2023
Postgraduate open day 22 March 2023

Key academic dates

Please note that the academic dates below relate to the standard teaching, examination and term dates for undergraduate and postgraduate students at the University.

Start dates for Postgraduate Research programmes may vary by programme and you should contact your Research Supervisor for more information.

  2022/232023/24
Welcome Week 19 to 23 September 2022  18 to 22 September 2023
Teaching Block 1 26 September to 16 December 2022   25 September to 15 December 2023
Autumn degree congregations 7 to 14 November 2022  TBC
Winter vacation (students) 19 December 2022 to 6 January 2023  18 December 2023 to 5 January 2024
January assessment period 9 to 20 January 2023  8 to 19 January 2024
Teaching Block 2 23 January to 5 May 2023  22 January to 3 May 2024
Winter degree congregations 14 to 16 February 2023  TBC
Spring vacation (students) 27 March to 14 April 2023  25 March to 12 April 2024
Spring degree congregations N/A  N/A
Summer revision week 8 to 12 May 2023  7 to 10 May 2024
Summer assessment period 15 May to 2 June 2023  13 to 31 May 2024
Summer vacation (students) Beginning 9 June 2023  Beginning 10 June 2024
Summer degree congregations TBC  TBC
Reassessment period 14 to 24 August 2023  TBC

Note: Winter and Summer congregations morning and afternoon

University closure days and bank holidays

2022/23

  • Monday 19 September 2022 (bank holiday)

Winter 2022/23 closure

  • Friday 23 December 2022 (closure day)
  • Monday 26 December 2022 (bank holiday)
  • Tuesday 27 December 2022 (bank holiday)
  • Wednesday 28 December 2022 (closure day)
  • Thursday 29 December 2022 (closure day)
  • Friday 30 December 2022 (closure day)
  • Monday 2 January 2023 (bank holiday)
  • Tuesday 3 January 2023 (closure day)

Spring 2023 closure

  • Friday 7 April 2023 (bank holiday)
  • Monday 10 April 2023 (bank holiday)
  • Tuesday 11 April 2023 (closure day)

May 2023 bank holidays

  • Monday 1 May 2023
  • Monday 8 May 2023
  • Monday 29 May 2023

Summer 2023 closure

  • Monday 28 August 2023 (bank holiday)
  • Tuesday 29 August 2023 (closure day)

2023/24

Winter 2023/24 closure

  • Friday 22 December 2023 (closure day)
  • Monday 25 December 2023 (bank holiday)
  • Tuesday 26 December 2023 (bank holiday)
  • Wednesday 27 December 2023 (closure day)
  • Thursday 28 December 2023 (closure day)
  • Friday 29 December 2023 (closure day)
  • Monday 1 January 2024 (bank holiday)
  • Tuesday 2 January 2024 (closure day)

Spring 2024 closure

  • Friday 29 March 2024 (bank holiday)
  • Monday 1 April 2024 (bank holiday)
  • Tuesday 2 April 2024 (closure day)

May 2024 bank holidays

  • Monday 6 May 2024
  • Monday 27 May 2024

Summer 2024 closure

  • Monday 26 August 2024 (bank holiday)
  • Tuesday 27 August 2024 (closure day)

University key dates calendar

Current students and staff can view the University of Bristol key dates calendar in Outlook. Guidance for adding to your own calendar.

Edit this page