People

Core academic members

NamePositionTelephoneEmailPhoto
Professor Bill Browne Co-Director - Centre for Multilevel Modelling, Professor of Statistics

+44 (0)117 3314350

william.browne@bristol.ac.uk Bill Browne
Dr George Leckie Co-Director - Centre for Multilevel Modelling, Reader in Social Statistics +44 (0)117 3314215 g.leckie@bristol.ac.uk George Leckie
Mr Christopher Charlton Senior Software Engineer +44 (0)117 3314265 c.charlton@bristol.ac.uk Chris Charlton
Professor Harvey Goldstein, FBA Professor of Social Statistics +44 (0)117 3314249 h.goldstein@bristol.ac.uk Prof Harvey Goldstein
Professor Kelvyn Jones, FBA Professor of Human Quantitative Geography +44 (0)117 9287509 kelvyn.jones@bristol.ac.uk Kelvyn Jones
Dr Elizabeth Washbrook Senior Lecturer in Quantitative Methods for Education +44 (0)117 3314328 liz.washbrook@bristol.ac.uk Liz Washbrook

Administrative assistant

NamePositionTelephoneEmailPhoto
Alyce Griffith  Commercialisation Officer   info-cmm@bristol.ac.uk  

Bristol associate members

NamePositionSchoolEmailPhoto
Dr Laura D Howe Reader in Epidemiology and Medical Statistics School of Social and Community Medicine laura.howe@bristol.ac.uk  
Dr Rachael Hughes Research Fellow School of Social and Community Medicine rachael.hughes@bristol.ac.uk  
Dr Susanna Jenkins Senior Research Fellow School of Earth Sciences susanna.jenkins@bristol.ac.uk  
Professor Toby Knowles Professor of Farming and Food Science School of Veterinary Sciences toby.knowles@bristol.ac.uk  
Dr Corrie Macdonald-Wallis Senior Research Associate in Statistics/Epidemiology School of Social and Community Medicine c.macdonald-wallis@bristol.ac.uk  
Dr David Manley Reader in Quantitative Geography School of Geographical Sciences d.manley@bristol.ac.uk  
Dr Richard Parker Senior Research Associate in Medical Statistics/Epidemiology - MRC IEU School of Social and Community Medicine richard.parker@bristol.ac.uk Richard Parker
Dr Bobby Stuijfzand Data Science Specialist Jean Golding Institute bg.stuijfzand@bristol.ac.uk  
Professor Sally Thomas Professor of Education School of Education s.thomas@bristol.ac.uk Sally Thomas
Professor Kate Tilling  Professor of Medical Statistics School of Social and Community Medicine kate.tilling@bristol.ac.uk  
Levi Wolf Lecturer in Quantitative Human Geography School of Geographical Sciences levi.john.wolf@bristol.ac.uk Photo of Levi Wolf

External associate members

NamePositionDepartment & InstitutionEmailPhoto
Professor Paul Clarke Professor of Social Statistics Institute for Social and Economic Research, University of Essex pclarke@essex.ac.uk Paul Clarke
Dr Maria Eugenia Ferrao Assistant Professor University of Beira Interior, Portugal meferrao@ubi.pt  
Dr Robert French Research Fellow  University of Cardiff FrenchR3@cardiff.ac.uk Robert French
Professor Fiona Steele, FBA Professor of Statistics Department of Statistics, London School of Economics f.a.steele@lse.ac.uk Fiona Steele

PhD students supervised by core academic and Bristol associate members

NameIntakeSchoolEmail
Saba Arshad 2017 School of Education sa16473@bristol.ac.uk
Elizabeth Bermeo Velasquez 2014 School of Geographical Sciences e.bermeovelasquez@bristol.ac.uk
Amanda Deakin 2013 School of Physiology and Pharmacology amanda.deakin@bristol.ac.uk
Chris Draper 2009 School of Biological Sciences bzcjd@bristol.ac.uk
Emily Eyles 2015 School of Geographical Sciences ee15592@bristol.ac.uk
Beatriz Gallo Cordoba 2015 School of Education beatriz.gallocordoba@bristol.ac.uk
Gareth Griffith 2014 School of Geographical Sciences g.griffith@bristol.ac.uk
Chengxi Hu 2016 School of Geographical Sciences ch16399@bristol.ac.uk
Suh Kwong 2015 School of Education sk.kwon@bristol.ac.uk
Alex Kwong 2016 School of Geographical Sciences ak12982@bristol.ac.uk
Tim Morris 2014 School of Geographical Sciences tim.morris@bristol.ac.uk
Thomas Owton 2016 School of Geographical Sciences to12018@bristol.ac.uk
Lucy Prior 2015 School of Geographical Sciences lp0841@bristol.ac.uk
Satpal Sandhu 2016 School of Education satpal.sandhu@bristol.ac.uk
Adrian Sayers 2014 School of Social and Community Medicine
Amy Sweet 2015 School of Geographical Sciences amy.sweet@bristol.ac.uk
Katie Wonham 2013 School of Veterinary Sciences k.wonham@bristol.ac.uk
Nina Zhang 2014 School of Geographical Sciences nina.zhang@bristol.ac.uk 

PhD student alumni

NamePositionSchool & Year graduatedEmailPhoto
Dr Andrew Bell Lecturer in Quantitative Social Science, Sheffield Methods Institute School of Geographical Sciences, 2014 andrew.j.d.bell@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Guanpeng Dong Lecturer in Geographic Data Science, University of Liverpool School of Geographical Sciences, 2015 Guanpeng.Dong@liverpool.ac.uk
Dr Yingyu Feng

Research Fellow, Menzies Centre for Health Policy, School of Public Health, University of Sydney, Australia

School of Geographical Sciences, 2016  yingyu.feng@sydney.edu.au  
Dr Mark Hanly Research Fellow, Centre for Big Data Research in Health, University of South Wales, Australia School of Economics, Finance and Management, 2015 m.hanly@unsw.edu.au
Dr Cheryl Heath   School of Veterinary Sciences, 2015    
Dr George Leckie Reader in Social Statistics, School of Education, University of Bristol School of Education, 2008 g.leckie@bristol.ac.uk George Leckie
Dr Dewi Owen Research Associate, School of Geographical Sciences, University of Bristol School of Geographical Sciences, 2015  
Dr Gwilym Owen   School of Geographical Sciences, 2017 gwilym.owen@bristol.ac.uk  
Dr Rebecca Pillinger Statistician, Usher Institute of Population Health Sciences and Informatics, University of Edinburgh and Research Associate, Physical Activity for Health Research Centre, Moray House School of Education, University of Edinburgh School of Education, 2014 rebecca.pillinger@ed.ac.uk Rebecca Pillinger
Dr Toni Price   School of Education, 2017 toni.price@bristol.ac.uk Toni Price
Dr Lizzie Rowe Distance Education Coordinator, International Cat Care School of Veterinary Sciences, 2015    
Dr Bobby Stuijfzand Data Science Specialist, Jean Golding Institute, University of Bristol School of Experimental Psychology, 2016 bg.stuijfzand@bristol.ac.uk  
Dr Puneet Tiwari Research Fellow, College of Business Law & Social Sciences, School of Social Sciences, Nottingham Trent University School of Economics, Finance and Management, 2016 puneet.tiwari@ntu.ac.uk  
Dr Lei Zhang Research Associate, School of Education, University of Bristol School of Education, 2016  z12395@bristol.ac.uk  

Obituaries