Managing participants and scheduling in Questionmark

Managing participants and scheduling

This section provides information and guidance for:


Download the Getting started guide for information and instructions

For more advanced options, see the Full Questionmark guide (login to questionmark.com required).

Setting up and managing groups

To request a new group, or give give other colleagues access to your groups, email digital-education@bristol.ac.uk. When emailing, please include the group name(s), and the UoB username of any administrator who needs access to them.

Naming groups and schedules

Where possible, group and schedule names should include the unit code, so that each course can be easily identified in the future.

There are several special characters which should not be used, for example & and £ (see below for a full list). Such characters will throw up an 'invalid character' error message.

Special characters which should not be used in group or schedule names

Creating new users in the system

All participants need to be created onto the system manually, as Questionmark Perception is not integrated with the University data hub.  However, UoB users can authenticate using their UoB credentials (Single Sign On) while external users will need to be provided with a password.

Creating UoB users (batch and individual)

UoB users must be imported using the import template provided. This must be completed correctly. The import template must be used for creating both multiple accounts and individual accounts.

1. Preparing the import template

Download the UoB import template and complete as follows

FieldNotes
USERNAME student UoB username
EMAIL UoB email address
PASSWORD

Random password. This password will not be used by the students but it is essential for the import to work correctly. Password rules are:

  • Password must be 8 characters long
  • Include numbers
  • Include Lower case
  • Include Upper case
  • You can use this tool to generate a group of passwords.
FIRST NAME Student's first name
LAST NAME Student's last name
DETAILS Last year of study (eg 2020)
DETAILS 1 Last year of study (eg 2020)
DETAILS 2 Student number
DETAILS 3 Any other date you may wish to add
SSO ID Student UoB username. NOTE: If this is left blank students will not be able to log into the system, it will not be possible to reset their password on the system. You will need to re-import them again and select the option to override

2. Save the file in CSV format on your local computer and proceed to the next step 'import UoB users onto the system.'

Importing UoB users onto the system

  1. Log onto Questionmark
  2. Click the downward arrow next to People and select Users
  3. Click the tab 'Import Participants'
  4. Delimiter: set to 'comma'
  5. File: browse for your pre-populated import file
  6. Ovewrite existing participants: don't check
  7. Replace existing groups: don't check
  8. Use groups in import file: don't check
  9. Add participants to Group: Click the downward arrow to select your group (if you can't see the group contact digital-education@bristol.ac.uk to gain access) 
  10. Generate password randomly:check
  11. Notify participants of new account: don't check
  12. Select import

Note: Users already exist on the system

You might receive a message that the import failed because some users already exist on the system. This means that someone else has already imported the students and you will need to search for them and add them to your group. To do this follow these steps:

  1. Go to People > Users
  2. Click on Filter user and search the user by username
  3. On the right hand side under Groups click 'membership'.
  4. Select the group where you want to add the student.
  5. Click Save.

Creating external users

The following requirements should be taken into consideration before creating external users on the system.

Preparing the import template

Download the External import template and complete as follows.

Field
Notes
USERNAME xt_username (eg xt_joblog)
EMAIL User's email address. This is required and must be a valid email address which will be used by the system to email users automatically.
PASSWORD

Random password. Password rules are:

  • Password must be 8 characters long
  • Include numbers
  • Include Lower case
  • Include Upper case
  • You can use this tool to generate a group of passwords.
FIRST NAME Users's first name
LAST NAME User’s last name
DETAILS Last year of use (eg 2020)
DETAILS 1 Last year of use (eg 2020)
DETAILS 2-5 Any other data if required.

 

Save the file in CSV format on your local computer.

Importing external users onto the system

  1. Log onto Questionmark
  2. Click the downward arrow next to People and select Users
  3. Click the tab 'Import Participants;
  4. Delimiter: set to 'comma'
  5. File: browse for your import file
  6. Overwrite existing participants: don't check
  7. Replace existing groups: don't check
  8. Use groups in import file: don't check
  9. Add participant to Group: Click the downward arrow to select your group (if you can't see the group contact digital-education@bristol.ac.uk to gain access)
  10. Generate password randomly: check
  11. Notify participants of new account: check
  12. Select import

Note:


The system will automatically send a one-time link for users to log in and set a new password. Users will need to be notified in advance to look out for an email. External users' passwords can't be retrieved, if a user can't remember their password it will need to be reset by the local administrator via the User interface.

Add an individual student to a group

 

Deleting participants

Bristol is limited by our licence to a maximum of 8,500 active participants enrolled on the system at any one time, and we can only stay within the limit by regularly removing participants who are no longer needed. Deleted participants does not delete results.

You will still be able to run reports on participants whi have been deleted from the system.

To delete participants:

  1. Log onto Questionmark
  2. Click the downward arrow next to People and select Users.
  3. Click Filter Users > Filter by group> select your group and select 'Participant' in the any 'any role' field
  4. Check the box next to username to select ALL or next to each individual user
  5. In Update options select 'Cancel the selected user accounts'