Meet the Members


There are 22 members of the Board of Trustees, with a lay majority. The full list of members and their membership category are listed in the table below. Elected and appointed members serve for renewable three-year terms.


ConstituencyMemberInitial appointment dateEnd date of current term of officePhoto
Treasurer - Lay Member (Class 1) Mr Andrew Poolman 01/01/2013 31/12/2017 Andrew Poolman, Lay Member
One person nominated by Convocation (Class 1) Mrs Julie Goldstein 01/08/2015 31/07/2018 Julie Goldstein
Up to ten persons elected by Court, on the nomination of the Nominations Committee of Court Mr Denis Burn (Chair) 01/01/2006 31/12/2017 Denis Burn, Chair of Council
Mr Roy Cowap 01/01/2010 31/12/2018 Roy Cowap, Lay Member
Dr Moira Hamlin (Vice-Chair) 01/01/2011 31/12/2019 Moira Hamlin, Lay Member
Sir Ronald Kerr 01/01/2010 31/12/2018 Ron Kerr, Lay Member
Dr John Manley 01/01/2011 31/12/2019 John Manley, Lay Member
Mr Mohammed Saddiq 01/01/2011 31/12/2019 Mohammed Saddiq, Lay Member
Ms Victoria Stace 01/01/2011 31/12/2019 Victoria Stace, Lay Member
Ms Anne Stephenson 01/01/2009 31/12/2017 Anne Stephenson, Lay Member
Mr James Wetz 01/01/2009 31/12/2017 James Wetz, Lay Member
The Vice-Chancellor (Class 2) Professor Hugh Brady   ex officio
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (nominated by the Vice-Chancellor) (Class 2) Professor Guy Orpen   ex officio
Three members of academic staff (elected by Ordinance 5) (Class 2) Professor Stephen Mann 01/08/2014 31/07/2017
Professor Bridget Lumb 01/08/2015 31/07/2018 Council member, B Lumb
Dr Sally-Ann Kitts 01/08/2014 31/07/2017 Sally Ann Kitts photo
Two members of the non-academic staff (elected by Ordinance 5) (Class 2) Mrs Tilly Beech 01/08/2015 31/07/2018 Council member, T Beech
Mr Robert Massie 01/08/2015 31/07/2018 Council member, R Massie
UBU Sabbatical Officer (Class 3) Ms Laura Ho   ex officio lauraho
UBU Sabbatical Officer (Class 3) Mx Jamie Cross   ex officio