The core staff within Bristol’s QECDT have been hand-picked for their research excellence as well as their ability to communicate that knowledge to others in a practical setting.

The management team

The core academic team

Supported by numerous supervisors from the University of Bristol as well as a wider group of industrial external partners, the core team within the QECDT covers the key disciplines of engineering, physics, mathematics and computer science:

John Rarity, Professor of Optical Communication Systems

Ruth Oulton, Professor of Quantum Photonics

Noah Linden, Professor of Theoretical Physics

Ashley Montanaro, Professor of Quantum Computation

Krishna Coimbatore Balram, Associate Professor in Photonic Quantum Engineering

David May, Professor of Computer Science


Previous PhD supervisors

Alastair Sinclair, Principle Research Scientist, NPL

Anthony Laing, Associate Professor in Physics, University of Bristol

Chris Erven, Lecturer in Quantum Engineering, University of Bristol

Colin Campbell, Reader in Mathematics for Information Technology, University of Bristol

Daryl Beggs, Lecturer at the University of Cardiff, University of Cardiff

Dylan Mahler, Experimental Physicist, Xanadu

Edmund HarbordLecturer in Optical Communications & Networks, University of Bristol

Eleanor RieffelSenior Research Scientist and QuAIL Lead, NASA Ames Research Center

Fernando Gonzalez-Zalba, Senior Research Scientist, Hitatchi Cambridge Laboratory

Jonas Rademacker, Professor of Physics, University of Bristol

Jonathan Matthews, Associate Professor in Quantum Technology, University of Bristol

Josh Nunn, Reader, Centre for Photonics and Photonic Materials, University of Bath

Josh Silverstone, Senor Research Associate, University of Bristol

Kenneth McEwan, DSTL

Mark ThompsonCTO, PsiQuantum

Mete Atature, Professor of Physics, University of Cambridge

Paul SkrzypczykRoyal Society Research Fellow and Lecturer, University of Bristol

Rafaele SantagatiQuantum Computing Scientist, Boringer Ingelheim

Roger Colbeck, Professor, University of York

Tony ShortSenior Lecturer, University of Bristol

Will McCutcheon, Research Associate, Heriot Watt

Winfried Hensinger, Professor, University of Sussex

Edit this page