24 October 2017 - 25 October 2017

Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists, London

24 October 2017, Day 1

09.45-10.15: Welcome

  • Dr Sheelagh McGuinness (University of Bristol)
  • Prof Sally Sheldon (University of Kent)

10.15-11.45: Campaigners ‘in conversation’

Featuring leading members of each of the major organisations who have worked for liberalising reform:

  • Dilys Cossey and Diane Munday (ALRA)
  • Marge Berer (NAC/ICAR)
  • Lisa Hallgarten (Voice for Choice)
  • Kerry Abel (Abortion Rights)
  • Katherine O'Brien (bpas)

Chair: Clare Murphy (bpas)

11.45-12.45: The Abortion Act and Travel

  • Dr Gayle Davis (University of Edinburgh)
  • Dr Goretti Horgan (Ulster University)
  • Dr Carrie Purcell (University of Glasgow)

Chair: Dr Ruth Fletcher (QMUL)

12.45-13.45: Lunch

13.45-15.15: The Lane Committee

  • Sir Denis Pereira Gray, Prof. Juliet Cheetham (Committee Members)
  • Caroline Woodroffe (Witness)
  • Lord David Owen (then Minister for Health)

Chair: Dr Sheelagh McGuinness (University of Bristol)

15.15-15.45: Coffee

15.45-16.05: Interview with Professor David Baird

Chair: Prof Lesley Regan (RCOG)

16.05-17.30: Doctors ‘in conversation’

Featuring older and younger generations of doctors who have worked, or intend to work, in this area of practice:

  • Prof Anna Glasier (Honorary Professory University of Edinburgh and London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine) 
  • Prof Wendy Savage
  • Dr John Parsons
  • Dr Richard Lyus
  • Dr Megan Griffiths
  • Sean Rees

Chair: Dr Patricia Lohr (Medical Director, bpas)

17.30: Drinks reception

25 October 2017, Day 2

09.30-11.00: The Abortion Act and Changing Models of Provision

  • Joanne Fletcher (Nurse Consultant Gynaecology)
  • Kinga Jelinska (Executive Director, Women Help Women)
  • Prof Allan Templeton (University of Aberdeen)
  • Dr Ellie Lee (University of Kent)

Chair: Dr Tracey Masters

11.00-11.30: Coffee

11.30-12.30: The International Impact of the Abortion Act

  • Prof Barbara Brookes (New Zealand)
  • Prof Barbara Baird (Adelaide)

Chair: Prof Bernard Dickens (University of Toronto)

12.30-13.30: Lunch

13.30-15.00: International Models for Reform

  • Prof Joanna Erdman (Dalhousie University)
  • Prof Jenny Morgan (University of Melbourne)
  • Leah Hoctor (Center for Reproductive Rights, Europe)

Chair: Prof Michael Thomson (Leeds University)

15.00-15.30: Coffee

15.30-17.00: Parliamentarians and Reform

  • Lord David Steel
  • Dr Evan Harris
  • Diana Johnson MP

Chair: Keith Hindell

17.00-17.30: Concluding Thoughts

  • Prof Lesley Regan (RCOG) 
  • Ann Furedi (bpas)
Edit this page