Workshops

Group Study Skills Sessions 

Disability Services are running weekly, online Group Study Skills sessions facilitated by a qualified Study Skills Tutor who will help you to: 

  • improve your existing academic skills;
  • refine your notetaking;
  • help with structuring your writing assignments;
  • boost your revision technique.

These sessions may be helpful to students who know or think they have dyslexia or have conditions such as ADHD, autism spectrum conditions, or mental health conditions, among other things.  

If you require study skills support but do not have (or suspect you have) a disability and are not in need of specialist support, there is also the University’s Study Skills service. 

Each group will have a maximum of 10 students attending. To book onto the sessions via Eventbrite, please use the links below.

  • Time management: Tuesday 2nd November, 2:00pm-3:00pm. Book your place.
  • Active reading skills: Tuesday 9th November, 2:00pm-3:00pm. Book your place.
  • Critical thinking: Wednesday 10th November, 1:30pm-2:30pm. Book your place.
  • Improving academic style: Tuesday 16th November, 2:00pm-3:00pm. Book your place.
  • Building academic arguments: Wednesday 17th November, 1:30pm-2:30pm. Book your place.
  • Structuring assignments: Tuesday 23rd November, 2:00pm-3:00pm. Book your place.
  • Improving academic style: Wednesday 24th November, 1:30pm-2:30pm. Book your place.
  • Proofreading and concise writing: Tuesday 30th November, 2:00pm-3:00pm. Book your place.
  • Memory and revision techniques: Tuesday 7th December, 2:00pm-3:00pm. Book your place.
  • Referencing source material correctly: Wednesday 8th December, 1:30pm-2:30pm. Book your place.

Am I Dyslexic?

If you or a tutor, friend or family member think you have dyslexia, come to this workshop. Workshops will be run online this term via Microsoft Teams.

  • Find out about dyslexia and other specific learning difficulties, such as dyspraxia;
  • Hear about how dyslexia can affect your studies;
  • Learn how to get an assessment for dyslexia;
  • Find out how to check if you could get funding to pay for an assessment;
  • Learn about the benefits of having dyslexia identified;
  • Hear about the study support available for students with dyslexia.

Book an Am I Dyslexic Workshop

All workshops are are run online via Microsoft Teams and run from 1:00pm to 2:00pm. 

Tuesday, January 25, 1:00pm-2:00pm. Book your place.
Tuesday, February 1, 1:00pm-2:00pm. Book your place.
Tuesday, February 8, 1:00pm-2:00pm. Book your place.
Tuesday, February 15, 1:00pm-2:00pm. Book your place.
Tuesday, February 22, 1:00pm-2:00pm. Book your place.
Tuesday, March 1, 1:00pm-2:00pm. Book your place.
Tuesday, March 8, 1:00pm-2:00pm. Book your place.
Tuesday, March 15, 1:00pm-2:00pm. Book your place.
Tuesday, March 22, 1:00pm-2:00pm. Book your place.
Tuesday, March 29, 1:00pm-2:00pm. Book your place.
Tuesday, April 5, 1:00pm-2:00pm. Book your place.
Tuesday, April 12, 1:00pm-2:00pm. Book your place.

I have an SpLD report: What's next?

This workshop is for you if you have had a report or 'diagnostic assessment' confirming a specific learning difficulty, such as dyslexia or dyspraxia.

  • Get advice on the next steps now that you have a diagnosis.
  • Hear about what support is available at the University and how to get it.
  • Learn how to get funding for additional support, such as Disabled Students’ Allowances (DSAs) for one-to-one study skills tuition or mentoring.
  • Find out what study support is available, such as support through the Library or the Study Skills service.

Workshops will be run online this term, please see below for dates and how to book.

Edit this page