People

This page lists names of the University of Bristol staff, and colleagues from the UK National health Service (NHS), with expertise in health data science. Use the ‘search’ field to find colleagues using keywords, or click on the keyword tab.

If you are member of the University of Bristol, or work in the NHS, with expertise in health data science and wish to be added to this hub please contact ebi-healthdatascience@bristol.ac.uk.

Name Job Title Faculty Department Email Networks Keywords
Aitchison, Laurence Lecturer Engineering Engineering laurence.aitchison@bristol.ac.uk  big data machine learning artificial intelligence statistics bayesian inference deep learning
Armstrong, Miranda Lecturer in Physical Activity in Adults Social Sciences & Law Policy Studies miranda.armstrong@bristol.ac.uk big data data linkages routine data routine health records epidemiology routine data fractures vascular disease physical activity
Beaumont, Mark Professor of Statistics Life Sciences Biological Sciences m.beaumont@bristol.ac.uk CABOT big data machine learning artificial intelligence statistics evolutionary biology
Bernardi, Roberta Lecturer in Management Social Sciences & Law Economics; Finance & Management roberta.bernardi@bristol.ac.uk HDS patient empowement big data machine learning artificial intelligence digital health hardware apps
Bird, Jon Senior Lecturer Engineering Computer Science jon.bird@bristol.ac.uk big data routine data routine health records machine learning artificial intelligence epidemiology digital health hardware apps complex data analytics data-intensive computing
Blom, Ashley Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery Health Sciences THS ashley.blom@bristol.ac.uk NJR (National Joint Registry for England, Wales, NI and Isle of Man) big data arthtoplasty hip replacemement knee replacement metal-on-metal mortality
Boyd, Andy Data Linkage Manager Health Sciences PHS a.w.boyd@bristol.ac.uk ALSPAC HDS PEARL data science data linkages routine data routine health records epidemiology research governance longitudinal data
Browne, William Professor of Statistics Social Sciences & Law Education william.browne@bristol.ac.uk Royal Statistical Society Turing Fellow data linkages statistics epidemiology applied statistics algorithms computational statistics bayesian statistics random effect modelling multilevel modelling
Campbell, Colin Reader in Mathematics for Information Technology Engineering Engineering Mathematics c.campbell@bristol.ac.uk big data data linkages machine learning artificial intelligence bioinformatics
Champneys, Alan Professor of Applied Non-linear Mathematics Engineering Engineering Mathematics a.r.champneys@bristol.ac.uk Applied Nonlinear Mathematics Digital Health Engineering Dynamics and Control Engineering Systems and Design Robotics epidemiology interdisciplinary mathematical modelling mathematical biology mathematical modelling applied dynamical systems industrial mathematics coherent structures nonlinear waves
Clatworthy, Phil Honorary Senior Lecturer Health Sciences THS phil.clatworthy@bristol.ac.uk HDS Bristol Health Partners CLAHRC routine data routine health records primary care secondary care specialist care public health