Faculty deans

Each faculty at the University of Bristol is led by a faculty dean.

Deans are appointed from each faculty's academic body for a term of five years by an appointment panel chaired by our Vice-Chancellor.

Arts Professor Michael Basker
Engineering Professor Andrew Nix
Biomedical Sciences Professor George Banting
Health Sciences Professor Jonathan Sandy
Science Professor Tim Gallagher
Social Sciences and Law Professor Paddy Ireland

Functions and responsibilities

  • To oversee and guide the planning process within the Faculty and its integration within the overall University Plan
  • To determine priorities for expenditure within the Faculty and to assist the Vice-Chancellor in the creation of departmental budgets
  • To maintain and enhance academic standards within the Faculty
  • To take a leading role in the formulation of University academic strategy
  • To manage, encourage and guide heads of department within the Faculty
  • To be the budget-holder for the Faculty
Edit this page