Postgraduate commendations

Our research students make important contributions to the research undertaken in the Faculty of Science. This achievement is recognised at an international level in publications in leading journals, and presentations at conferences both nationally and internationally.

A number of our research students make truly outstanding contributions in their chosen field of research. The Faculty of Science marks such exceptional achievement by awarding a Faculty of Science Commendation to those PhD and MSc theses that are deemed outstanding by the Examiners. This accolade is achieved by about 15% of our research students.

The University’s Research Degree Examinations Board awards a prize annually to one PhD student within each Faculty for excellence in a doctoral thesis. Within the Faculty of Science all PhD students who receive a Faculty of Science Commendation are considered for this prize, which includes a cash award and a certificate of commendation in recognition of the honour.

It is a privilege to read the Examiners' nominations for these theses and to be reminded just how talented our research students are. This page presents the students who have so far been awarded a Faculty of Science Commendation in the current academic year and preceding years. Please do take some time to find out about the exciting research that these students have completed and about the students themselves. The winner of the Faculty of Science Research Prize is announced in the Autumn.

Professor Carl Dettmann, Graduate Dean


PhD students who have received commendations for their PhD thesis and viva in the academic year 2017-18

School of Biological Sciences

  • Kelly Atkins

School of Chemistry

  • Philip Coulter
  • Giacomo Crisenza
  • William Ganley *Faculty Doctoral Prize for the Physical Sciences*
  • Claudio Greco
  • Monika Jakimowicz
  • Nicholas Lees
  • Guto Rhys
  • Matthew Robinson
  • Christopher Sandford
  • Felix Vaughan

School of Earth Sciences

  • Luke Parry

School of Experimental Psychology

  • Robyn Wootten

School of Geographical Sciences

  • Stephen Chuter *Faculty Doctoral Prize for the Natural Environment and Life Sciences*
  • Dominik Hulse

School of Mathematics

  • Hazel Brickhill
  • Stamatis Dimopoulos
  • Thanatkrit Kaewtem
  • Raphael Steiner

School of Physics

  • Peter Martin
  • Alex Neville
  • William Waller

Edit this page