View all news

Spatial Inequality through the prism of a pandemic: Covid-19 in South Africa

for About US

14 October 2020

Spatial inequality through the prism of a pandemic:
                 Covid-19 in South Africa

Muna Shifa, Anda David, Murray Leibbrandt

 

The seminar will be presented by Dr Muna Shifa. Muna is a senior research officer in ACEIR, which is located in SALDRU. She holds MCom and Ph.D. degrees in economics from the University of Cape Town and a BSc degree in statistics from Addis Ababa University. Her research focuses on land tenure systems and rural livelihoods, urbanisation and development, social cohesion and inequality, and the analysis of poverty and inequality. She teaches postgraduate level courses on complex surveys and measuring poverty and inequality in the School of Economics at the University of Cape Town.

Prof Dave Gordon will provide a brief response to the presentation. Dave is Professor of Social Justice and Director of the Townsend Centre for International Poverty Research and the Bristol Poverty Institute at the University of Bristol, UK. He has written and edited over 200 books, papers, and reports on poverty, inequality and social exclusion, social justice, and social policy. Dave was a member of the UN Expert Group on Poverty Statistics (Rio group) and contributed to its ‘Compendium of Best Practice in Poverty Measurement’. He has acted as an external expert for the European Union Working Group on Income, Poverty and Social Exclusion and was a member of the EU Task Force on Material Deprivation. He was appointed as a scientific advisor to the European Union/Latin American Network 10 - Fight against Urban Poverty. He advised the United Nations Department for Economic & Social Affairs (UNDESA) on poverty and hunger issues amongst young people (aged 15 to 24) and contributed to the 2005, 2007 and 2009 World Youth Reports. Professor Gordon advised the World Health Organisation on measurement issues concerning water & sanitation access in low and middle income countries.

Details are:

Date: Monday 19th October 2020

Time: 15.00 SAST - 13.00 in Ghana; 14.00 in UK; 17.00 in Kenya

Zoom: Click here to enter the Zoom meeting

Meeting ID: 828 0366 0754

Passcode: 509447

ACEIR Seminar Invitation Logo

 

 

Edit this page