View all news

2017 Bristol Teaching Award winners announced

7 June 2017

The winners of the 2017 Bristol Teaching Awards, a joint venture between the University and Bristol SU, were announced at an Awards dinner, hosted by the Vice-Chancellor in the Great Hall of the Wills Memorial Building on Tuesday 6 June.

Almost 200 staff and students from across the University and Bristol SU attended the Awards dinner and ceremony on the 6 June, preceded by the inaugural symposium launching the Bristol Institute for Learning and Teaching earlier in the day. Attendees at the Awards dinner heard the winners of the 17 Awards being announced and were entertained by an operatic performance from two of our students: Tom Niesser and Will Whiting.

The Bristol Teaching Awards recognise and reward those members of staff who have made an outstanding contribution to teaching, providing support for students and enhancing the student learning experience.

Staff and students nominated individuals or teams for eight University Awards, judged by Professor Judith Squires, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Education), and nine Students’ Awards, judged by a panel of Bristol SU Education Officers and student Senate representatives.

The winners are as follows: 

  • University Award for Education (Arts): The Senior Tutors in the Faculty of Arts (Amy Lewis, Claire Huxham, Katie Hackney, Dr Sarah Serning)
  • University Award for Education (Biomedical Sciences): Dr Paul Curnow, School of Biochemistry
  • University Award for Education (Engineering): Dr Mike Tierney, Queen’s School (Mechanical Enginering)
  • University Award for Education (Health Sciences): Dr Dave Dymock, School of Oral and Dental Sciences
  • University Award for Education (Science): Dr Josie Briscoe, School of Experimental Psychology
  • University Award for Education (Social Sciences and Law): Fundamentals of Accounting and Finance 2 Unit Team (Dr Adriana Korczak, Emma Pugh and Samantha Bell), School of Economics, Finance and Management
  • University Award for Enhancing the Student Learning Experience: Robbie Fox, Centre for Sport, Exercise and Health
  • University Educational Initiative Award: The Centre for Innovation, led by Dr Kirsten Carter
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching (Arts): Dorinda Offord, School of Modern Languages (Russian)
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching (Biomedical Sciences): Professor Christoph Wuelfing, School of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching (Engineering): Dr Francesco Fornetti, Merchant Venturers’ School (Electrical and Electronic Engineering)
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching (Health Sciences): Dr Veronica Roberts, School of Veterinary Sciences
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching (Science): Dr Rose Murray, School of Biological Sciences
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching (Social Sciences and Law): Dr Jonathan Floyd, School of Sociology, Politics and International Studies
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching by a Postgraduate Student: Sandra Berlau Neumann, School of Physiology, Pharmacology and Neuroscience
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Supervision of Research Students: Dr Nicoletta Momigliano, School of Humanities (Classics and Ancient History)
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Support: Kirsty France, Queen’s School of Engineering

The Centre for Innovation was selected from the 17 winners to receive the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Education. The Centre for Innovation is a collaborative venture involving colleagues from across the university and was recognised for its outstanding work in developing a series of programmes that prepares and challenges our students to become the innovators and entrepreneurs of tomorrow. 

Edit this page