Brain Art winners

The BN Festival organisers would like to acknowledge the generous support of the University of Bristol Alumni Foundation towards the costs of this event.

Gallery below:

Brain Art slideshow (PDF, 7,828kB)

Schools Brain Art: Judges Decisions

Thank you to everyone who entered the competition this year. Due to a lack of entries from children in Key Stage 3 it was decided to combine this age group with the Key Stage 4/5 group and have a Secondary School category.  We also received one group entry and the judges decided to award that a special prize. The judges also selected additional entries to receive a Highly Commended award and these together with the prize winners will now be on display at the Royal West of England Academy, Bristol from 22ndMarch to 17th April in the Fedden Gallery.  Entry to this gallery is free to members of the public.

The Bristol Neuroscience Festival organisers would like to thank the judges, Dr Kathryn Garney, Dr Sue Pickering, Mr Joel Edwards and Mr Chris Dunseath for giving up their time to run this competition, and all of the schools fpr making this such a memorable event.  With your support we may try to run this again in the future. 

Primary School Category


 Arthur Burston, Blagdon Primary School. 


Zac Lamakan, Christchurch C of E Primary School, Bristol 

Highly Commended

  • Alissa van Duijneveldt, Almondsbury C of E Primary School
  • Sam Smith, Blagdon Primary School
  • Lilia Fairley, Blagdon Primary School
  • Eleanor Baxtor, Golden Valley Primary School
  • Joshua Stannard, Golden Valley Primary School
  • Maya Stone, Golden Valley Primary School
  • Lena Gorce, St Bonaventures RC Primary School
  • Vince Joy, St Teresa’s Catholic Primary School
  • Alex Varghese, St Teresa’s Catholic Primary School
  • Kian Thomas, Walliscote Primary School
  • Ollie Ayres, Walliscote Primary School
  • Rocco Molfese, Whitehall Primary School
  • Niamh Bodel, Whitehall Primary School

Secondary School Category


 Leah Allen, Redland Green School


Eve Szczelkun, Redland Green School

Highly Commended

  • Sarina Allan, Badminton School
  • Ana Smoleanu, Bristol Brunel Academy
  • Kate Seddon, Clevedon School
  • Ella Thrasher, Redland Green School
  • Olivia Platt, Redland High School for Girls
  • Maisie Saunders, St Brendan’s Sixth Form
  • Maddie Quinn, The Redmaids’ School

Judges Collaborative Prize

 Hillcrest Primary School

Edit this page