Scholarships and prizes


Airbus Women in Aerospace Engineering Scholarships

The Airbus scholarship aims to support and encourage women in Aerospace engineering and is awarded to first years who successfully complete a written or video application on an Aerospace-related topic.

  • Prize winners 2016: Abi Coates, Zeynep Yanar, Sophie Hazelby and Victoria Race
  • Previous winners 2015: Kate Goldup, Kathryn Pugh, Megan Reynolds and Joanna Savage

Please visit the link for more scholarships, Faculty funding opportunities and University of Bristol information.


The Department of Aerospace holds an Annual Award Winning Projects Prize giving ceremony. These awards cover excellence in academic and project based work as well as contributions to the student and departmental community.

Industrial representatives at the ceremonies

The 2016 ceremony took place on 15 July at Bristol Grammar School.  Industrial representatives included Mr Jeremy Graham (Royal Aeronautical Society), Dr Tom Mackman (Reaction Engines) and Professor Ian Lane (Airbus UK).

The 2015 ceremony was attended by Dr John Williams (Reaction Engines), Ms Shamma Musthapha (Boeing UK) and Mr Stuart Ellis (Chief Engineer TP400, Rolls Royce).

In 2014 representatives included Mrs Ann Lowson, Dr Helen Webber (Reaction Engines) and Andrew Owen (Boeing Defence UK).

For the 2013 ceremony, Sir George White (descendant of the 1st Sir George, pioneer of the British aircraft industry), Ian McNeil (Boeing Defence UK) and Richard Varvill (Reaction Engines) were in attendance.

Final year prizes

Third year prizes

Second year prizes

First year prizes

Edit this page