People

Page contents


Academic staff

NameTitleEmailResearchFull Contact Details
Cole, Emma Lecturer in Liberal Arts emma.cole@bristol.ac.uk Greek and Roman tragedy, classical performance reception, esp. the reception of tragedy in avant-garde and experimental theatre Contact Emma Cole
Coo, Lyndsay Lecturer Greek Literature, Athenian Tragedy (esp. Sophocles) Contact Lyndsay Coo
Eidinow, Esther Chair in Ancient History Ancient Greek social and cultural history, esp. religion and magic; myth; historiography (esp. Herodotus and Thucydides); cognitive humanities; history of emotions [on research leave 2017/18] Contact Esther Eidinow
Finglass, Patrick Professor of Greek

Greek literature, especially tragedy and lyric poetry; Greek myth; history of scholarship; textual criticism.

Contact Patrick Finglass

Guast, William A.G. Leventis Fellow in Greek Studies william.guast@bristol.ac.uk Greek Imperial Literature, declamation, rhetorical theory Contact William Guast
Hales, Shelley Senior Lecturer shelley.hales@bristol.ac.uk Ancient (esp. Roman) art, the reception of Roman material culture Contact Shelley Hales
Haskell, Yasmin Chair of Latin yh16780@bristol.ac.uk Neo-Latin, History of Emotions, History of Mental Health, Classical Tradition, Science and Poetry, History of Jesuits Contact Yasmin Haskell
Jansen, Laura Lecturer laura.jansen@bristol.ac.uk Latin Literature, paratextuality, Classics and Comparative Literature, classical in twentieth-century writing, global Classics. Contact Laura Jansen
Knippschild, Silke Senior Lecturer clzsk@bristol.ac.uk Ancient Near East, Greece, international relations and cross-cultural contacts [on research leave 2017/18] Contact Silke Knippschild
Lampe, Kurt Senior Lecturer clkwl@bristol.ac.uk Greek, Roman, and comparative philosophy and literature Contact Kurt Lampe
Liveley, Genevieve Senior Lecturer g.liveley@bristol.ac.uk Augustan poetry, esp. Ovid and his reception [on research leave TB2] Contact Genevieve Liveley
Michelakis, Pantelis Reader p.michelakis@bristol.ac.uk Greek literature, Greek tragedy and comedy, classics and film Contact Pantelis Michelakis
Momigliano, Nicoletta Professor of Aegean Studies n.momigliano@bristol.ac.uk Aegean bronze age, esp. Minoan Crete, and its reception Contact Nicoletta Momigliano
O'Gorman, Ellen Senior Lecturer e.c.ogorman@bristol.ac.uk Latin literature, Augustan and post-Augustan poetry and prose Contact Ellen O'Gorman
Sandwell, Bella Senior Lecturer bella.sandwell@bristol.ac.uk Roman religion, early Christianity, late antiquity [on research leave TB1] Contact Bella Sandwell
Shaw, Edwin Teaching Fellow Roman Republican history and literature, especially historiography Contact Edwin Shaw
Walsh, Hannah Project Co-ordinator for Bristol Classics Hub h.walsh@bristol.ac.uk   Contact Hannah Walsh
Zajko, Vanda Reader v.zajko@bristol.ac.uk Reception of classical literature, particularly in the 20th century Contact Vanda Zajko

Emeriti staff

NameEmailTitleResearch
Buxton, Richard richard.g.a.buxton@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emeritus Greek literature (esp. tragedy), mythology and religion
Clark, Gillian gillian.clark@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emerita Late antiquity, early Christianity
Fowler, Robert robert.fowler@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emeritus Early Greek language and literature, Greek myth and religion
Kennedy, Duncan duncan.f.kennedy@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emeritus Latin literature, critical theory
Martindale, Charles Professor Emeritus  

Part-time tutors

NameEmail
Hannah-Marie Chidwick
Richard Cole 
Martine Diepenbroek 
Katherine Dunleavy
Lucy Elkerton 
Marina Galetaki 
Silvie Kilgallon 
Vasileia Kouliouri 
Anna Simandiraki-Grimshaw  arzas@bristol.ac.uk
Edit this page