Annual Meeting of Court, Friday 12 December 2014

The Annual Meeting of Court took place on Friday 12 December 2014 in the Reception Room, in the Wills Memorial Building.

For copies of the Vice-Chancellor's speech and the Review of the Year please see below:

For copies of the presentations please see below:

The following people received Long Service Awards:

You can also download a complete pack of the papers from below:

The minutes from the meeting will be circulated to members in due course.

 If you have any queries,  please contact the Governance Office directly.

Members of Court

There are some 585 Court members of Court.  A list of Court members 2015 (PDF, 426kB) is available.  The members include officers of the University, members of Council and Senate, emeritus professors, benefactors, members of the Society of Merchant Venturers, representatives of local authorities, persons appointed by Privy Council, persons appointed by the Chancellor of the University, representatives of other Universities, local Members of Parliament, representatives of local and professional bodies, and 100 members elected by Convocation.  Further information can be found in the University of Bristol Charter, Acts, Statutes, Ordinances and Regulations‌ (Statute 11).

Powers of Court

Court receives reports from Council and an annual audited statement of accounts.  Court may comment on the affairs of the University, advise Council on any matter, and invite Council to review a decision.

Court has power, on the proposal of Council, to recommend to the Privy Council changes to the Charter and statutes.  It appoints the Chancellor, Pro-Chancellors and Treasurer upon the nomination of Council, appoints annually the external auditors and elects fifteen lay members of Council.

Further information can be found in University of Bristol Statutes 2013-14 (PDF, 138kB) (Statute 12).

Meetings of Court

Court normally meets once a year in December.  The Chancellor presides.  Court considers the annual accounts and the strategy and management of the University.  Court may hold special meetings at the request of its members.  Formal minutes, papers and presentations from the meetings of Court are made available to members of the public.  Further information can be found in the University of Bristol Charter, Acts, Statutes, Ordinances and Regulations (Statute 13).

The next annual meeting of Court is Friday 12 December 2014.


Court is organised by:

The Governance Office