School contact details

The School of Arts undergraduate administration is based at 43 Woodland Road, Bristol BS8 1UU. Tel: 0117 954 6050


For general undergraduate student-related queries, contact: sart-ugoffice@bristol.ac.uk


You can find us in building nos 22 and 23 on the university precinct map. The travel information site provides directions to the university as well as alternative means of transport to avoid parking difficulties and  traffic congestion around the precinct.

Postgraduate administration is based at the Graduate School, 7 Woodland Road, BS8 1TB.  Tel:  0117 928 8897.


Contact details for individual academic officers and administrative staff are listed below.

Academic officers:

Head of SchoolOffice locationTelephoneEmail address
Professor Leon Horsten 43 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1UU
c/o 0117 331 1239
Internal: 11239
Leon.Horsten@bristol.ac.uk
Deputy HeadsOffice locationTelephoneEmail address
Teaching and Learning Dr Neal Farwell Victoria Rooms
Queens Road
Bristol BS8 1SA
0117 331 4061
Internal:  14061
Neal.Farwell@bristol.ac.uk
Research Dr Nick Saunders 43 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1UU
0117 331 1188
Internal: 11188
Heads of SubjectOffice locationTelephoneEmail address
Archaeology and Anthropology Dr Fiona Jordan 43 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1UU
0117 954 6078
Internal: 46078
fiona.jordan@bristol.ac.uk
Film Dr Alex Clayton Cantocks Close
Bristol  BS8 1UP
0117 331 5274
Internal:  15274
A.Clayton@bristol.ac.uk
Theatre Professor Simon Jones Cantocks Close
Bristol BS8 1UP
0117 954 5466
Internal: 45466
Music Professor Katharine Ellis Victoria Rooms
Queen's Road
Bristol BS8 1SA
0117 331 4041
Internal: 14041
Katharine.Ellis@bristol.ac.uk
Philosophy Professor Richard Pettigrew

Cotham House
Cotham Hill
Bristol BS6 6JL

0117 331 0923
Internal: 10923
Richard.Pettigrew@bristol.ac.uk
Deputy Heads of SubjectOffice locationTelephoneEmail address
Archaeology and Anthropology Dr Lucy Cramp 43 Woodland Road
Bristol  BS8 1UU
0117 331 1210
Internal: 11210
Lucy.Cramp@bristol.ac.uk
Film/TV Dr Pete Falconer Cantocks Close
Bristol  BS8 1UP
0117 954 5476
Internal:  45476
Theatre

Dr Catherine Hindson (TB1)

Dr Paul Clarke (TB2)

Van Dyck Building
Cantocks Close
Bristol  BS8 1UP

0117 331 5095
Internal: 15095

0117 954 5231
Internal:  45231

Catherine.Hindson@bristol.ac.uk

P.Clarke@bristol.ac.uk

Music Dr Pauline Fairclough Victoria Rooms
Queen's Road
Bristol BS8 1SA
0117 331 4038
Internal: 14038
Pauline.Fairclough@bristol.ac.uk
Philosophy Dr Giles Pearson 43 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1UU
0117 331 0637
Internal: 10637
Directors of ExamsOffice locationTelephoneEmail address
Archaeology and Anthropology Dr Jo Brück 43 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1UU
0117 954 6988
Internal: 46988
Film/Theatre/Music Dr Kate Elswit Victoria Rooms
Queen's Road
Bristol  BS8 1SA
0117 954 5465
Internal:  45465
Philosophy

Dr Andrew Pyle (TB1)

Dr Finn Spicer (TB2)

Cotham House, Bristol BS6 6JL

0117 954 6702
Internal: 46702

0117 331 0946
Internal: 10946

A.J.Pyle@bristol.ac.uk

Finn.Spicer@bristol.ac.uk

Directors of Student Progress (during transition to Senior Tutor) Office locationTelephoneEmail address
Archaeology and Anthropology

Dr Mwenza Blell (TB1)

Professor Alex Bentley (TB2)

43 Woodland Road
Bristol  BS8 1UU

 

0117 331 1191
Internal: 11191

R.A.Bentley@bristol.ac.uk

Film/Theatre/Music Dr Helen Piper Cantocks Close
Bristol  BS8 1UP
 0117 954 5473
Internal: 45473
H.L.Piper@bristol.ac.uk
Philosophy Dr Seiriol Morgan

Cotham House
Bristol BS6 6JL

0117 331 0437
Internal: 10437
Seiriol.Morgan@bristol.ac.uk
Senior TutorOffice locationTelephoneEmail address
Katie Hackney

43 Woodland Road
Bristol  BS8 1UU

 

0117 928 8626
Internal: 88626

Katie.Hackney@bristol.ac.uk

Admissions OfficerOffice locationTelephoneEmail address
Archaeology and Anthropology Dr Lucy Cramp Room 1N08
43 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1UU
0117 331 1210 Lucy.Cramp@bristol.ac.uk
Music Dr David Trippett Music
Victoria Rooms
Bristol BS8 1SA
  David.Trippett@bristol.ac.uk
Philosophy Dr Andrew Pyle Cotham House, Bristol BS6 6JL 0117 954 6702
Internal: 46702
A.J.Pyle@bristol.ac.uk

 

Administrative Staff:

School ManagerOffice locationTelephoneEmail address
Gillian Fearnyough Room 2N14
43 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1UU
0117 331 7834
Internal: 17834
Gillian.Fearnyough@bristol.ac.uk
Executive OfficeOffice locationTelephoneEmail address
Senior Executive Assistant Debra Squires Room 2N15
43 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1UU
0117 331 1239
Internal: 11239
D.J.Blackmore-Squires@bristol.ac.uk
Administrative Assistant (Student Reception desk) Laura Midwinter Room GN12
43 Woodland Road
Bristol  BS8 1UU
0117 954 6050
Internal:  46050
Laura.midwinter@bristol.ac.uk
Student Admin Office (for UG students)Office locationTelephoneEmail address
General student admin queries, or for being directed to specific admin contacts (main reception number): 0117 95 46050
Internal: 46050
sart-ugoffice@bristol.ac.uk
Student Administration Manager Sharon Behan Room GN12
43 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1UU
0117 331 1007
Internal: 11007

sart-senioradmin@bristol.ac.uk
Student Administration Manager Jo Purdie Room GN12
43 Woodland Road
Bristol  BS8 1UU
0117 331 8466
Internal:  18466

sart-senioradmin@bristol.ac.uk
UG Senior Student Administrator Sarah Carter Room GN12
43 Woodland Road
Bristol  BS8 1UU
0117 954 6068
Internal:  46068
 sart-ugsenior@bristol.ac.uk

UG Student Administrator

Christina Crosby Room GN13
43 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1UU
0117 928 7429 Internal: 87429 Contact for Philosophy sart-philadmin@bristol.ac.uk

UG Student Administrator

Susie Feest Room GN13
43 Woodland Road
Bristol  BS8 1UU
  Contact for Archaeology & Anthropology sart-archadmin@bristol.ac.uk
UG Student Administrator Megan Holmes Room GN13
43 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1UU
Student Admin Team Office: 0117 954 6045
Internal: 46045
Contact for Music sart-musicadmin@bristol.ac.uk
UG Student Administrator Debbie Hughes Room GN13
43 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1UU
0117 331 8465
Internal: 18465
Contact for Philosophy sart-philadmin@bristol.ac.uk
UG Student Administrator Jenny Lowman (on Maternity leave until October 2014) Room GN13
43 Woodland Road
Bristol BS8 1UU
0117 954 6049
Internal: 88386
sart-ugadmin@bristol.ac.uk
UG Student Administrator Lisa Murphy Room GN13
43 Woodland Road
Bristol  BS8 1UU

0117 954 6061
Internal: 46061

Contact for Film and Theatre sart-dramaadmin@bristol.ac.uk

1st year students please contact:
sart-filmtvadmin@bristol.ac.uk, sart-theatreadmin@bristol.ac.uk

UG Student Administrator Margaret Peirson Room GN13
43 Woodland Road
Bristol  BS8 1UU
0117 954 6045
Internal: 46045
Contact for Music sart-musicadmin@bristol.ac.uk
UG Student Administrator Lisa Turner Room GN13
43 Woodland Road
Bristol  BS8 1UU
0117 928 7427
Internal: 87429
Lisa.A.Turner@bristol.ac.uk
Discipline specific supportOffice locationTelephoneEmail address
Film and Theatre Resource Manager (job-share) Deborah Gibbs (Mon, Tues, Weds) Drama
Cantocks Close
Bristol BS8 1UP
0117 331 5088
Internal: 15088
Deborah.Gibbs@bristol.ac.uk
Film and Theatre Resource Manager (job-share) Kate Withers (Weds, Thurs, Fri) Drama
Cantocks Close
Bristol BS8 1UP
0117 331 5088
Internal: 15088
Kate.Withers@bristol.ac.uk
Music Resource Administrator (job-share) Megan Holmes Music
Victoria Rooms
Bristol  BS8 1SA
0117 331 4044
Internal: 14044
Megan.Holmes@bristol.ac.uk
Music Resource Administrator (job-share) Margaret Peirson Music
Victoria Rooms
Bristol BS8 1SA
0117 331 4044
Internal: 14044
M.E.Peirson@bristol.ac.uk