View all news

Honorary degrees at Bristol University

Press release issued: 28 June 2002

Media release
Honorary degrees at Bristol University

Bristol University is awarding the following Honorary Degrees at ceremonies to be held in the Wills Memorial Building in July 2002.

JULY 2002

Monday 8
Professor Julia Goodfellow
(Crystallographer; Chief Executive, Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council; Bristol graduate)
Doctor of Science

Professor Peter Goodfellow, FRS
(Geneticist; Senior Vice-President, Discovery and Research, GlaxoSmithKline;
Bristol graduate)
Doctor of Science

Mr Arthur Milton
(Former international cricketer and footballer; Bristolian)
Master of Arts

Tuesday 9
Dr Abdul Hussein
(President, Al-Baath University, Syria, 1976-2000; chemist; Bristol graduate)
Doctor of Laws

Professor Michael Shears, CBE
(Deputy Chairman and Chairman of Operations, Ove Arup Partnership; Visiting Professor at the University since 1991)
Doctor of Engineering

Mr Bill Nicholas
(Bristolian; Trade Unionist)
Master of Arts

Wednesday 10
Ms Jane Campbell
(Disability Rights Commissioner; campaigner for disabled people)
Doctor of Laws

Mr Justice Lip Ping Thean
(Former Judge of Appeal, Supreme Court, Singapore; Bristol graduate)
Doctor of Laws

Mr Jay Tidmarsh, MBE, JP
(Lord-Lieutenant of Bristol)
Doctor of Laws

Thursday 11
Professor Steven Blair
(Director of Epidemiology and Clinical Applications, The Cooper Institute for Aerobics Research, Dallas, Texas)
Doctor of Science

Dame Janet Trotter
(Vice-Chancellor, University of Gloucestershire)
Doctor of Laws

Mrs Doreen Mahoney
(Domestic Supervisor, University Housekeeping Office)
Master of Arts

Friday 12
Professor Philip Rahtz
(Former Professor of Medieval Archaeology, University of York; Bristol graduate)
Doctor of Letters

Mr Balram Gidoomal
(Businessman; lecturer; author)
Doctor of Laws

Back to archive

Copyright: 2001 The University of Bristol, UK
Updated: Friday, 28-Jun-2002 11:35:37 BST

Edit this page