Honorary degrees

An honorary degree is one of higher education's most significant accolades. Each year, following very careful consideration, the University bestows a number of honorary degrees on distinguished individuals who merit special recognition for outstanding achievement and distinction in a field or activity consonant with the mission of the University. The people concerned receive their degrees at one of the two degree congregations held in January and July of each year in the Great Hall of the Wills Memorial Building. During the ceremony an oration is delivered in commendation of each Honorary Graduand.

The awarding of an honorary degree to an individual is recommended by the Honorary Degrees Committee and approved by Senate and Board of Trustees.

Forthcoming honorary graduands

July 2017 ceremonies

Friday 14 July:

Monday 17 July:

Tuesday 18 July:

Wednesday 19 July:

Thursday 20 July:

Friday 21 July:

Most recent honorary graduates

February 2017 Graduation