Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme

This page will be updated in due course regarding 2018 scholarships.

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme (CSSS) is a joint initiative between the UK Department for International Development; (DfID) and the University of Bristol to support students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom. Awards are for one-year taught postgraduate courses and cover:

  • Tuition fees
  • Maintenance/ Living cost stipend (£1,065 pcm, 2017/18 figures)
  • Return flights
  • Thesis grant
  • Study travel grant (if applicable)
  • A one-off arrival allowance (£410, 2017/18 figures)

The course fees are paid by the DfID / Commonwealth Scholarship Commission, and the University of Bristol pays the maintenance allowance.

Please note: CSSS award holders must return home within four weeks at the end of their programme upon submitting their dissertation. Attending the graduation ceremony is not part of the award.