People

Page contents


Academic staff

NameTitleEmailResearchFull Contact Details
Chidwick, Hannah-Marie Teaching Fellow and Deputy Director of Teaching in Classics and Ancient History Roman military history, Latin literature, critical military studies, and Continental philosophy Contact Hannah-Marie Chidwick
Cole, Emma Lecturer in Liberal Arts and Classics emma.cole@bristol.ac.uk Greek and Roman tragedy, classical performance reception, esp. the reception of tragedy in avant-garde and experimental theatre Contact Emma Cole
Coo, Lyndsay Lecturer in Greek Greek Literature, Athenian Tragedy (esp. Sophocles) Contact Lyndsay Coo
Eidinow, Esther Chair in Ancient History Ancient Greek social and cultural history, esp. religion and magic; myth; historiography (esp. Herodotus and Thucydides); cognitive humanities; history of emotions [on research leave 2017/18] Contact Esther Eidinow
Finglass, Patrick Professor of Greek

Greek literature, especially tragedy and lyric poetry; Greek myth; history of scholarship; textual criticism.

Contact Patrick Finglass

Guast, William A.G. Leventis Fellow in Greek Studies william.guast@bristol.ac.uk Greek Imperial Literature, declamation, rhetorical theory Contact William Guast
Hales, Shelley Senior Lecturer in Art & Visual Culture shelley.hales@bristol.ac.uk Ancient (esp. Roman) art, the reception of Roman material culture [on research leave TB1] Contact Shelley Hales
Haskell, Yasmin Chair of Latin yh16780@bristol.ac.uk Neo-Latin, History of Emotions, History of Mental Health, Classical Tradition, Science and Poetry, History of Jesuits Contact Yasmin Haskell
Jansen, Laura Senior Lecturer in Classics & Comparative Literature laura.jansen@bristol.ac.uk Classical literature, paratextuality, classics in twentieth-century writing, and global Classics Contact Laura Jansen
Knippschild, Silke Senior Lecturer in Ancient History clzsk@bristol.ac.uk Ancient Near East, Greece, international relations and cross-cultural contacts [on research leave 2017/18] Contact Silke Knippschild
Lampe, Kurt Senior Lecturer in Classics clkwl@bristol.ac.uk Greek, Roman, and comparative philosophy and literature Contact Kurt Lampe
Liveley, Genevieve Reader in Classics g.liveley@bristol.ac.uk Narrative theory (ancient and modern), Lating poetry (esp. elegy), and classical reception Contact Genevieve Liveley
Martin, Paul Teaching Associate in Classics and Liberal Arts Greek literature (especially Greek Comedy), humour and parody in the ancient world, and Greek food culture Contact Paul Martin
Michelakis, Pantelis Reader in Classics p.michelakis@bristol.ac.uk Greek literature and theatre, cultural transmission, and classical reception Contact Pantelis Michelakis
Momigliano, Nicoletta Professor of Aegean Studies n.momigliano@bristol.ac.uk Aegean bronze age, esp. Minoan Crete, and its reception Contact Nicoletta Momigliano
O'Gorman, Ellen Senior Lecturer in Classics e.c.ogorman@bristol.ac.uk Latin literature, Augustan and post-Augustan poetry and prose [on research leave TB1] Contact Ellen O'Gorman
Sandwell, Bella Senior Lecturer in Ancient History bella.sandwell@bristol.ac.uk Roman religion, early Christianity, late antiquity [on research leave TB1] Contact Bella Sandwell
Shaw, Edwin Teaching Fellow Roman Republican history and literature, especially historiography Contact Edwin Shaw
Walsh, Hannah Project Co-ordinator for Bristol Classics Hub h.walsh@bristol.ac.uk   Contact Hannah Walsh
Zajko, Vanda Reader in Classics v.zajko@bristol.ac.uk Reception of classical literature, particularly in the 20th century Contact Vanda Zajko

 

Emeriti staff

NameEmailTitleResearch
Buxton, Richard richard.g.a.buxton@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emeritus Greek literature (esp. tragedy), mythology and religion
Clark, Gillian gillian.clark@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emerita Late antiquity, early Christianity
Fowler, Robert robert.fowler@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emeritus Early Greek language and literature, Greek myth and religion
Kennedy, Duncan duncan.f.kennedy@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emeritus Latin literature, critical theory
Martindale, Charles Professor Emeritus  

Part-time tutors

NameEmail
Adam Brennan adam.brennan@bristol.ac.uk
Richard Cole 
Katherine Dunleavy
Maria Lopez-Rios ml12442@bristol.ac.uk
Rebecca Shaw
Edit this page