People

Page contents


Academic staff

NameTelephoneEmailTitleResearch
Cole, Emma   emma.cole@bristol.ac.uk Lecturer in Liberal Arts Greek and Roman tragedy, classical performance reception, esp. the reception of tragedy in avant-garde and experimental theatre
Coo, Lyndsay +44 (0)117 331 0824 Lecturer Greek Literature, Athenian Tragedy (esp. Sophocles)
Eidinow, Esther   Chair in Ancient History Ancient Greek social and cultural history, esp. religion and magic; myth; historiography (esp. Herodotus and Thucydides); cognitive humanities; history of emotions [on research leave 2017/18]
Finglass, Patrick +44 (0117) 928 8258 Professor of Greek

Greek literature, especially tragedy and lyric poetry; Greek myth; history of scholarship; textual criticism.

Guast, William   william.guast@bristol.ac.uk A.G. Leventis Fellow in Greek Studies Greek Imperial Literature, declamation, rhetorical theory
Hales, Shelley +44 (0)117 928 9807 shelley.hales@bristol.ac.uk Senior Lecturer Ancient (esp. Roman) art, the reception of Roman material culture
Haskell, Yasmin   yh16780@bristol.ac.uk Chair of Latin Neo-Latin, History of Emotions, History of Mental Health, Classical Tradition, Science and Poetry, History of Jesuits
Jansen, Laura  +44 (0)117 331 0819 laura.jansen@bristol.ac.uk Lecturer Latin Literature, paratextuality, Classics and Comparative Literature, classical in twentieth-century writing, global Classics.
Knippschild, Silke +44 (0)117 928 9016 clzsk@bristol.ac.uk Senior Lecturer Ancient Near East, Greece, international relations and cross-cultural contacts [on research leave 2017/18]
Lampe, Kurt +44 (0)117 928 8168 clkwl@bristol.ac.uk Senior Lecturer Greek, Roman, and comparative philosophy and literature
Liveley, Genevieve +44 (0)117 928 7763 g.liveley@bristol.ac.uk Senior Lecturer Augustan poetry, esp. Ovid and his reception [on research leave TB2]
Michelakis, Pantelis +44 (0)117 928 9785 p.michelakis@bristol.ac.uk Reader Greek literature, Greek tragedy and comedy, classics and film
Momigliano, Nicoletta +44 (0)117 954 6082 n.momigliano@bristol.ac.uk Professor of Aegean Studies Aegean bronze age, esp. Minoan Crete, and its reception
O'Gorman, Ellen +44 (0)117 331 7380 e.c.ogorman@bristol.ac.uk Senior Lecturer Latin literature, Augustan and post-Augustan poetry and prose
Sandwell, Bella +44 (0)117 928 9020 bella.sandwell@bristol.ac.uk Senior Lecturer Roman religion, early Christianity, late antiquity [on research leave TB1]
Shaw, Edwin   Teaching Fellow Roman Republican history and literature, especially historiography
Walsh, Hannah   h.walsh@bristol.ac.uk Project Co-ordinator for Bristol Classics Hub  
Zajko, Vanda +44 (0)117 928 9851 v.zajko@bristol.ac.uk Reader Reception of classical literature, particularly in the 20th century

Emeriti staff

NameTelephoneEmailTitleResearch
Buxton, Richard n/a richard.g.a.buxton@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emeritus Greek literature (esp. tragedy), mythology and religion
Clark, Gillian n/a gillian.clark@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emerita Late antiquity, early Christianity
Fowler, Robert n/a robert.fowler@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emeritus Early Greek language and literature, Greek myth and religion
Kennedy, Duncan n/a duncan.f.kennedy@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emeritus Latin literature, critical theory
Martindale, Charles n/a Professor Emeritus  
Edit this page