National Teaching Fellowship scheme

Submissions for the 2023 NTFs have now closed.

The purpose of the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) is to recognise, reward, and celebrate individuals who are judged to make an outstanding impact on the student learning experience, and provide the means to develop a proactive community of National Teaching Fellows.

The scheme is organised and run by Advance HE. Institutions can nominate up to three individuals per annum, with a total of up to 55 individual awards being made in 2023.

National Teaching Fellows at the University of Bristol include Professor Dudley ShallcrossDr James Norman, Professor Lucy BerthoudAssociate Professor Ros O'LearyProfessor Sheena Warman, Professor Tansy Jessop, Dr Trevor Thompson.

We particularly welcome expressions of interest from groups who have been previously under-represented in the NTFS, including: ethnic minority BAME groups; the wide range of staff that support learning; and part-time, fractional, sessional or hourly paid staff.   

The three successful nominees will be provided with support and mentoring to develop their application. The deadline for submitting finished applications is in March 2023, with results announced August 2023.    


To be considered staff should be teaching and/or supporting student learning and must be able to evidence that they can meet the following criteria: 

  1. Evidence of enhancing and transforming student outcomes and/or the teaching profession; demonstrating impact commensurate with the individual’s context and the opportunities afforded by it. 
  1. Evidence of supporting colleagues and influencing support for student learning and/or the teaching profession; demonstrating impact and engagement beyond the nominee’s immediate academic or professional role. 
  1. Show the nominee’s commitment to and impact of ongoing professional development with regard to teaching and learning and/or learning support.  

Evidence should demonstrate reach, value and impact.

Expression of Interest and NTFS workshop: 

Submissions for Expression of Interest closed Monday 24th October 2022, 9am.


  • National Teaching Fellow Scheme launch: Monday 3rd October  
  • BILT NTFS Workshop: Wednesday 5th October, 4pm - 5pm
  • Deadline for Expressions of Interest (EOIs): Monday 24th October, 9am
  • Panel reviews EOIs and outcomes communicated: w/c 7th November
  • Shortlisted applicants attend meeting to discuss next steps: w/c 14th November
  • Shortlisted applicants send final submission to Advance HE: March 2023 – exact date TBC

For more information about the NTFs please see the Advance HE website or internally please contact Alvin Birdi,  

Edit this page