View all news

Health sciences staff awarded for outstanding contributions to public health

NIHR logo

2 June 2016

12 staff in the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Bristol have been awarded Senior Investigator (SI) status by the National Institute of Health Research (NIHR).

NIHR Senior Investigators represent the UK’s most outstanding leaders of clinical and applied health and social care research. NIHR SI status reflects the quality and volume of research, the engagement of patients, members of the public, health policy makers and planners in the research process, research leadership and overall contribution to the work of the NIHR.

Senior Investigator status has been awarded for the first time to: Professor Ashley Blom, Professor Rona Campbell, Professor Matt Hickman and Professor Chris Salisbury. Professor Jane Blazeby, Professor Debbie Lawlor, Professor Andy Ness and Professor Jonathan Sterne have been granted ongoing NIHR SI status while prestigious Emeritus SI status has been awarded to: Professor Gianni Angelini, Professor Jenny Donovan, Professor David Gunnell and Professor Tim Peters.

Professor Jonathan Sandy, Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences, said: “We are extremely proud of our NIHR SI staff. This is not only reflects their significant contribution to public health in the UK but also how they are shaping the public health of the future through their teaching and research in the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Bristol.”

Further information

Further information on the NIHR Senior Investigators is available on the NIHR website.

Edit this page