View all news

University presents Long Service Awards

The Award Recipients with University Chancellor The Right Honourable the Baroness Hale of Richmond

The Award Recipients with University Chancellor The Right Honourable the Baroness Hale of Richmond Martin Chainey

18 December 2006

At the annual meeting of University Court earlier this month, seven members of staff were presented with Long Service Awards in recognition of 40 years or more of service to the University.

The recipients were:

Michael Ames
Technician, School of Biological Sciences

Margaret Hopton
Senior Technician, Department of Neuroendocrinology

Michael Kitcherside
Chief Technician, Division of Farm Animal Science

Jean Oliver
Administrative Assistant in Child Health, Clinical Science at South Bristol

Dr George Sandford
Reader, Department of Politics

Donald Shell
Senior Lecturer, Department of Politics

Jon Sims-Williams
Senior Lecturer, Department of Engineering Mathematics


The recipients in December 2005 were:

John Bailey
Undergraduate Dean and Special Lecturer, Geographical Sciences

Professor Sir Michael Berry
Professor of Physics, Department of Physics

Andrew Borkowski
Reader, School of Law

John Conibear
Technician, Clinical Veterinary Science

Jeffrey Croker
Technician, Department of Physiology

Iain Elliott
Computer Officer, Department of Pharmacology

Phil Garland
Building and Support Services Manager, Biological Sciences

Ashley Hunt
Dental Technician, Department of Oral and Dental Science

Richard Iles
Technician, Department of Physics

Cliff Jeal
Technician, Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine

Norman Lee
Technician, Department of Clinical Veterinary Science

Professor Howell Peregrine
Emeritus Professor of Mathematics, Department of Mathematics

Isobel Pierce
Lifelong Learning Administrator, School of Arts

David Sansum
Technician, Language Centre

Derek Telling
Director, Resources and Planning, Department of Anatomy

Dr Dudley Thompson
Director of Administration/Special Lecturer, School of Chemistry

John White
Technician, Department of Anatomy



Edit this page