Honorary fellows

An Honorary Fellowship is the highest honour the University of Bristol can bestow.

The title is usually conferred on an individual who has attained distinction in their academic field and/or has contributed consistently and over a significant period of time to the life of the University.

  • Sir Isambard Owen, D.C.L., LL.D., M.D. (1921)
  • Emeritus Professor Edward Fawcett, M.D., C.M., F.R.S. (1938)
  • Thomas Loveday, M.A., LL.D. (1946)
  • Emeritus Professor A. M. Tyndall, C.B.E., D.Sc., LL.D., F.R.S. (1948)
  • Emeritus Professor Andrew Robertson, D.Sc., F.R.S. (1949)
  • Professor G. C. Field, M.A., D.Litt., F.B.A. (1952)
  • Sir Philip Morris, K.C.M.G., C.B.E., M.A., LL.D., F.R.C.S., A.R.C.V.S. (1966)
  • Sir Alec Merrison, D.L., B.Sc., Ph.D., D.Sc., LL.D., F.F.C.M., F.R.S. (1984)
  • Emeritus Professor Charles Bruce Perry, M.D., F.R.C.P. (1985)
  • Sir Reginald Verdon-Smith, D.L., M.A., B.C.L., D.Sc., LL.D. (1985)
  • Joan Badock, M.A., LL.D. (1986)
  • Emeritus Professor Sir Charles Frank, O.B.E., B.A., B.Sc., D.Phil., D.Sc., D.Univ., F.R.S. (1986)
  • Emeritus Professor S. Körner, Jur.Dr., Ph.D., F.B.A. (1986)
  • Emeritus Professor Sir Alfred Pugsley, O.B.E., D.Sc., D.Univ., F.R.S., F.I.C.E., F.I.Struct.E., F.R.Ae.S. (1986)
  • Emeritus Professor Dorothy Hodgkin, O.M., M.A., Ph.D., D.Sc., Sc.D., D.Univ., LL.D., F.R.C.P., F.R.S. (1988)
  • D. M. Borland, LL.D. (1989)
  • Emeritus Professor A. Closs, M.A., D.Phil., D.Litt., F.R.S.L. (1989)
  • Emeritus Professor W. McCausland Stewart, M.A., D.Litt. (1989)
  • Emeritus Professor the Revd. K. Grayston, M.A., D.Litt. (1992)
  • Emeritus Professor R. G. Chambers, M.A., Ph.D. (1994)
  • Emeritus Professor G. W. G. Wickham, M.A., D.Phil., D.Litt. (1996)
  • Emeritus Professor P. Haggett, C.B.E., M.A., Ph.D., Sc.D., D.Sc., LL.D., F.B.A. (1998)
  • Sir Michael Angus, M.A., D.Sc. (1998)
  • Professor Sir John Kingman, M.A., Sc.D., D.Sc., D.Phil., LL.D., C.Stat., F.R.S. (2001)
  • Professor B. T. Pickering, B.Sc., Ph.D., D.Sc., Hon. M.D. (2002)
  • Sir Jeremy Morse, K.C.M.G., M.A., D.Litt., D.Sc., LL.D. (2003)
  • Emeritus Professor Sir Anthony Epstein Kt, C.B.E., F.R.S., M.A., M.D., D.Sc., Ph.D., F.R.C.Path. (2006)
  • Dr Stella Clarke (2008)
  • Dr John Moger Woolley (2014)
  • Professor Jeffrey C Watkins, FRS, FMedSci (2015)
  • Professor Sir Eric Jackson Thomas (2015)
  • Professor Sir Angus S Deaton (2016)
  • The Rt Hon. the Baroness Hale of Richmond, DBE (2017)
  • Professor Sir Michael Berry, FRS (2017)
Edit this page