We recognise and celebrate exceptional student talent and contributions. Many awards are supported by key players in the sector.

Second year prizes

  • UBCEA Prize - for the most significant contribution to the University bearing in mind academic, social and sporting achievements.
  • Brian Hawkins Prize - for the top mark in Field Methods and Geotechnics 2.

Overall performance prizes

  • Asset Management Prize- £100 for the best overall performance in the field of asset management.
  • Design Project Prize - £50 each for the best group in the Design Project 4 unit. Includes the poster and report elements only. Sponsored by The International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineering (IABSE) 
  • Nash Memorial Prize - £100 to student with the top mark across Geotechnical Design units
  • Research award - £100 awarded to the finalist student with the best Research Project.

Third and fourth year prizes

  • Hays Prize - £50 for a graduating MEng student judged as having the best project performance in the third and/or fourth year.
  • Institution of Civil Engineers' Prize - £250 for the best in performance in third and fourth years, with due regard to coursework and particular ability in civil engineering design.
  • Water Engineering Prize - £100 for the best overall performance in Water Engineering in third and fourth year, encompassing Water Resources Risk Management, Water Engineering 3 and the Water Resources Project.

Final year prizes

  • REEP Lintern Prize - £500 prize to the Best Civil Engineering Student in the final Year.
  • Hele Shaw Prize - £100 prize for final year student in any Department with a good academic or social record not otherwise covered.
  • Institution of Structural Engineers' (Francis Memorial) Prize - £200 for best performance in the final year in the field of structural engineering.
  • South Western Association of the Institution of Civil Engineers' Prize - £100 each for the two most meritorious final year students, £100 to be spent on books of professional value.
  • Wertheimer Memorial Prize - £100 for the final year student who is considered to have made the best contribution to the life of the Faculty and his/her fellow students.
  • Deloitte Haskins & Sells Prize - £40 for final year best performance in business and management studies.
Image of Hays prize award at graduation party 1718
James Foulger receiving his award from the Hays representative at the Civil Engineering Graduation party, July 2018.

Useful links

University of Bristol - Fees and funding database and Funding undergraduate study.

The Engineering Faculty Industrial Liaison Office  connects students with industry.

More about our Links with industry.

Edit this page