Careers drop-in sessions

From 2018, Bristol Clear will be running regular, fortnightly, half-day. drop-in sessions.
 
These are primarily aimed at Research Staff who have quick 'information' or 'checking' type questions, but they may also a good opportunity for PGRs who are thinking, specifically, about postdoctoral research roles to prepare themselves by coming and asking questions.
 
The sessions are primarily set up to allow you to do your own careers research. We make available:
  • Laptops, so that you can explore online careers tools
  • A growing bank of our own online guidance
  • Books and other resources aimed specifically at PGR and postdoctoral career level
  • A quiet space for you to focus on, and write applications
Staff will also be available to answer questions like: 
  • Can you check my academic/professional CV? 
  • Can you look over my covering letter?
  • What's an annual review?
  • What are the pros and cons of research roles?
  • Where will I find a postdoc position advertised?
  • How does promotion work at Bristol?
  • How do I start understanding my transferable skills?

You can also use the drop-ins to ask questions about other things that we do:

  • If I want training on X, what's the best workshop to attend?
  • I'm struggling with writing, how can I get support?
  • How do I contact my Research Staff rep? 
  • Or even... I'm facing this challenge, would a 1:1 help?
Drop-ins will run every two weeks, for a full afternoon, at the heart of the central precinct, and they are just that... drop-ins. If we're busy we'll run a booking system so that we can talk to everyone individually. But otherwise, just turn up when it's convenient for you and we'll be there. 
  
The next drop-ins are as follows in the PGR Hub (Senate House), Training room 2, 13:30 - 16:30 (unless a location is given alongside the date):
  • Wednesday 5th December 2018
  • Wednesday 19th December 2018
  • Wednesday 16h January 2019
  • Friday 1st February 2019
  • Thursday 14th February 2019
  • Thursday 28th February 2019
  • Thursday 14th March 2019
  • Thursday 28th March 2019
  • Thursday 11th April 2019
  • Thursday 25th April 2019
  • Thursday 09th May 2019 - CANCELLED 
  • Thursday 23th May 2019 - Brambles Dining Room, Hawthorns 2-5pm
  • Wednesday 29th May 2019 - Brambles Dining Room, Hawthorns 2-5pm
  • Thursday 06th June 2019 - Brambles Dining Room, Hawthorns 2-5pm
  • Thursday 20th June 2019 - Brambles Dining Room, Hawthorns 2-5pm
  • Thursday 04th July 2019 - Brambles Dining Room, Hawthorns 2-5pm
 
No need to book - just drop in!