Centre for Quantum Photonics

Our goal in the Centre for Quantum Photonics is to explore fundamental aspects of quantum mechanics, as well as work towards future photonic quantum technologies by generating, manipulating and measuring single photons as well as the quantum systems that emit these photons.

The Centre spans the School of Physics and Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering in the Faculties of Science and Engineering, and the Centre for Nanoscience and Quantum Information.

The academic members of the Centre are:

  • Professor Jeremy O'Brien, Director of CQP
  • Professor John Rarity, Head of Photonics
  • Dr Mark Thompson, Deputy Director of CQP
  • Dr Ruth Oulton, EPSRC Career Acceleration Fellow
  • Dr Jonathan Matthews, Leverhulme Research Fellow
  • Dr Graham Marshall, Marie Curie Research Fellow


A number of funding organisations support our research.