Wellcome PhD funding opportunities

Wellcome Trust 4 year PhD programme

This PhD programme aims to train the next generation of cell biologists in an environment of scientific excellence where they learn how to study fundamental, applied and translational cell biology in the context of specific diseases.

School resources

Many of us who work in the Dynamic Cell grouping generate fabulous time-lapse movies of cells undergoing the daily chores of life, for example, as they undergo the amazing process of division whereby they perfectly segregate their gene pool into their two daughter cells, or as white cells migrate rapidly to a wound site in order to fight off infection by bugs that would otherwise kill the organism.

We think these movies would make good teaching aids to illustrate aspects of the biology curriculum to primary and secondary school children, particularly how various cell behaviours contribute to health and disease.

Over the coming months we will upload some of our prettier cell biology images and movies of cells as they migrate across dishes or within tissues to block infections, as they traffic organelles within them, and as they divide and die. Enjoy!

Contacts

Main contacts

Name Telephone Email address
Professor Pete Cullen (0117) 331 2193    internal   12193 Pete.Cullen@bristol.ac.uk
Professor Paul Martin (0117) 331 2298    internal  12298 Paul.Martin@bristol.ac.uk

Dedicated secretarial support

Name Telephone Email address
Lindsey Watson (0117) 3311535     internal 11535 Lindsey.Watson@bristol.ac.uk

Management team 

Name Telephone Email address
Professor Pete Cullen (0117) 331 2193    internal   12193 Pete.Cullen@bristol.ac.uk
Professor Paul Martin (0117) 331 2298    internal   12298 Paul.Martin@bristol.ac.uk
Professor George Banting (0117) 331 2170    internal   12170 G.Banting@bristol.ac.uk

Professor Chris Paraskeva

(0117) 331 2072    internal   12072

C.Paraskeva@bristol.ac.uk
Professor David Wraith

(0117) 331 1435    internal   12054

D.C.Wraith@bristol.ac.uk
Professor Jo Adams (0117) 331 2361    internal   12361 Jo.Adams@bristol.ac.uk
Dr Kate Nobes (0117) 331 2229    internal   12229 Catherine.Nobes@bristol.ac.uk