View all news

Celebrating success at the Faculty Scholarship and prizes presentation

17 October 2019

The fourth annual Faculty of Social Sciences and Law Scholarships and Prizes event took place in the Wills Memorial Building on 14th October. It celebrated some of the fantastic achievements of students in the Faculty who have won prizes, scholarships and prizes over the year.

Prize winners and visitors were welcomed at the drinks and canapes reception by Professor Sarah Purdy, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Student Experience), and Professor Judith Squires, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost. The presentation of prizes was led by Rachel Lart (Faculty Undergraduate Education Director).

(Several prizes were awarded to students across the Faculty of Social Science and Law. This article refers to students within the School of Economics, Finance and Management).

In order of presentation, the awards included:

The Hazlewoods Prize. This prize is awarded to first year Accounting and Finance students for the best overall performance. WINNER: Dan Cullen (Accounting and Finance).

Dan said: “I am very grateful to have received the Hazlewoods Prize after a great first year of studies. I would like to thank Hazlewoods for presenting the award, and all the teaching staff who have contributed to my university experience so far! I am confident that the next two years will continue to prepare me for a future career in financial services”.

Hazlewoods was founded in 1919 by Marcus Hazlewood and is one of the top 30 independent chartered accountants and business advisory firms with over 300 staff working with clients nationally and internationally.

Simon Worsley, Associate Partner at Hazlewoods said: “We were very pleased to present Dan with the award and trophy in recognition of his extremely hard work.  Many congratulations to Dan and all of the other award winners.”

Second up was the Quantum Advisory Prize. This is awarded to second and third year Accounting students for the best overall performance. WINNER: Rafaelos Shokri (Accounting and Finance).

Rafaelos comments: “I was delighted to know that all my hard work in my second year of studies paid off and this news has motivated me to work even harder for next year so that I can make my dreams for the next step of my life a reality. My future plans after finishing University include acquiring the ACA and CFA qualifications and pursuing a career in professional services. A huge thank you to Quantum Advisory for funding the award and special thanks to all those who supported me during my last academic year!”

Quantum Advisory is an independent financial services consultancy that provides pensions, investments and employee benefit services to employers, scheme trustees and members, with offices in London, Bristol, Birmingham, Cardiff and Amersham.

Stuart Price, Partner at Quantum Advisory said: “I was once again grateful to be a part of the inspiring prize-giving ceremony at the University of Bristol and hear about the accomplishments being made by students. The level of teaching and the progress of students is phenomenal, and you can clearly see why Bristol is one of the best education institutions in the country.

Of course, the highlight of the event was presenting Rafaelos with his Quantum Advisory award, which was a privilege. The effort he has put in clearly shows and it was interesting to hear about his future career plans. I’ve no doubt he will be very successful in his chosen field.”

Professor Mark Clatworthy, from the Department of Accounting and Finance said:

“We are delighted to have the continued support of Hazlewoods and Quantum Advisory to help recognise the achievements of our students. Daniel and Raphaelos have performed extremely well on a demanding undergraduate programme and it was a pleasure seeing them both receive their prizes and meeting their sponsors on this happy occasion. The University of Bristol is committed to working with our local and regional professional partners and we appreciate the very generous support that Hazlewoods and Quantum Advisory have provided for our students in Accounting and Finance. Thanks also to Stuart, Adam, Simon and Andy for sponsoring these prizes again and for representing Hazlewoods and Quantum Advisory at this event”.

This was then followed by more sponsored awards:

Philip Geoffrey Powesland Prize, awarded to candidates who, at the end of their second year, showed the most promise. WINNER: Holly Turner (Economics).

Miles Fleming Prize, awarded to students in the School of Economics, Finance and Management who have performed particularly well in Economics examinations. WINNER: William Winterbotham (Economics).

Terry Prize, awarded to first year students in the School of Economics, Finance and Management in recognition of exceptionally good work. WINNER: Ben Pimley (Economics).

Additional awards won by students in the School of Economics, Finance and Management included:

Alumni Achievement Award: Yiqin Xu (Economics and Finance) – a one-off award made to the top two first year students in each faculty.

Dean’s Prize for outstanding first year performance: Ryan White and Alice Beal (both Economics).

Evelyn Miller Barstow Prize: Holly Turner (Economics) and again, Rafaelos Shokri (Accounting and Finance) – awarded to second year candidates for particularly good work in their second year.

The Dean’s International Intern Scholarship: this included honourable mentions to: Kavinda Mathew (Accounting and Finance), Faiq Qaiser (Management), Gian Warah (Economics and Finance) and Shreedaren Sinnassamy (Economics and Econometrics). The winners of this category were announced as: Jeffrey Benedict (Economics and Finance), and Ekaterina Nikolaeva (Economics).

Professional Mentoring Scheme Prize: The Faculty’s Professional Liaison Network runs mentoring schemes that link students with graduates of the same discipline in the winder world. As part of the programme, students were asked to complete a short Personal Reflection and Action Plan. The best of these have been awarded a prize. This final award was presented to Niall Beirne (Economics) and Oscar Mazzetta (Economics and Management).

Congratulations to all students and runners up, and a big thank you to all students, sponsors and mentors who joined in for the celebrations.

Edit this page