Advanced search

UK delegation visits research collaborators in China

UK-China delegates
Professor Joe McGeehan (Director) and Professor Siyuan Yu of the Centre for Communications Research at the University of Bristol recently participated in a two-week visit (26th July - 7th August 2009) by the UK members of a consortium, established under the Science Bridges programme, to academic and industrial organisations in China.

Uk-China Bridges Workshop
The visit was funded as part of a grant awarded by the Research Councils UK to a consortium of UK and Chinese universities.  This aims to accelerate the deployment of research knowledge, deepen and strengthen current research links, enable the acquisition of new skills and encourage wealth creation through improving the transfer of research and expertise from the research base to businesses and other users by building science and innovation bridges with world-class universities and high-tech businesses. The consortium members hope to establish a long-term sustainable collaboration between the UK and China in the area of next generation (4G) mobile communication systems by supporting collaborative research, mutual visits, exchange of researchers, and rapid technology transfer and commercialisation. 


It is essential in the development of the next global standard for mobile communications, that key researchers in both China and the UK work closely together in fundamental R&D.

Professor Joe McGeehan, Director Centre for Communications Research
A series of workshops, visits and meetings were held to discuss the latest research being conducted on 4G mobile communication systems in the UK and China, and discussions were held on methods of collaborating. Whilst in China, visits made included those to:

  • Shanghai Research Center for Wireless Communications (WiCo)
  • Jushri Wireless Technologies Inc.
  • Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd.
  • Shanghai Jiaotong University (SJTU)
  • Southeast University (SEU)
  • Huazhong University of Science & Technology (HUST)
  • Xidian University (XDU)
  • Shandong University (SDU)
  • Tsinghua University
  • Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications (BUPT)
  • China Mobile Communications Co.
  • China Academy of Telecommunication Research (CATR)

Full details of the grant were published in a previous news article.