Study Abroad Academic Directors

Joint programmes

If you're studying a joint degree and not sure which department owns your degree programme.

Contact your school office to find out. 

Contact GO Abroad

For more information about going abroad you can:

Email us: go-abroad@bristol.ac.uk
Call us: +44 (0) 117 39 40205
Visit us: 3rd Floor, 31 Great George Street, University of Bristol, BS1 5QD
Follow us: Instagram

Office hours: Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm
Book an appointment by clicking here

For every department offering a semester or year abroad, there is a Study Abroad Academic Director (SAAD) or Language Director for the School of Modern Languages.
 
Your SAAD or Language Director offers you academic support before, during and after your placement abroad. They can advise you on:
 
  • Academic requirements to go abroad
  • Types of units you can or cannot study abroad
  • Approval of your study plan or learning agreement abroad
Check the tables below to find out who your Study Abroad Academic Director or Language Director is.

 Faculty of Arts

DepartmentNameE-mail
Anthropology and Archaeology Dr Jamie Lawson and Dr Neil Carrier neil.carrier@bristol.ac.uk 
Classics and Ancient History Dr Silke Knippschild clzsk@bristol.ac.uk
Mr Nick Marshall (Administrative Contact) hums-cart-admin@bristol.ac.uk
English  Dr Michael Malay  m.malay@bristol.ac.uk 
English UG admin team (Administrative Contact) hums-engl-admin@bristol.ac.uk
French    Ms Fabienne Vailes (Study Placements and Overall Responsibility)  f.vailes@bristol.ac.uk
Ms Stéphanie Demont (Work Placements) s.demont@bristol.ac.uk
Miss Annelyse Apicella (Teaching Assistantships) a.apicella@bristol.ac.uk
SML UG Admin team (Administrative Contact) sml-ugadmin@bristol.ac.uk
German    Ms Mandy Poetzsch (Overall Responsibility and Study Placements) mandy.poetzsch@bristol.ac.uk
Ms Ruth Winter (Work placements) r.r.winter@bristol.ac.uk
Ms Claudia Sein (Teaching Assistantships) claudia.sein@bristol.ac.uk
 SML UG Admin team (Administrative Contact) sml-ugadmin@bristol.ac.uk
Hispanic, Portuguese and Latin American studies    Ms Itziar Martinez (Study Placements in Spain)  i.martinez@bristol.ac.uk
Ms Marga Menendez-Lopez (Work Placements in Spain) m.menendez-lopez@bristol.ac.uk
Miss Rossana Vanni (Study Placements in Latin America, Teaching Assistantships) ross.vanni@bristol.ac.uk
Ms Miriam Munoyerro (Work Placements in Latin America) miriam.munoyerro@bristol.ac.uk
Ms Madalena Pires (Study Placements in Portugal and Brazil Madalena.Pires@bristol.ac.uk
Mr Gustavo Infante (Work Placements in Portugal and Brazil) gustavo.infante@bristol.ac.uk
SML UG admin team (Administrative Contact) sml-ugadmin@bristol.ac.uk
History (Historical studies)   Dr Simeon Koole 
History UG admin team (Administrative Contact) hums-hs-admin@bristol.ac.uk
History of Art (Historical studies)  Dr Lucy Donkin lucy.donkin@bristol.ac.uk
History of Art UG admin team (Administrative Contact) hums-hs-admin@bristol.ac.uk
Italian   Mr Andrea Zhok (Work and Teaching Assistantship Placements) a.zhok@bristol.ac.uk
Dr Vera Castiglione (Study Placements) v.castiglione@bristol.ac.uk
SML UG admin team (Administrative Contact) sml-ugadmin@bristol.ac.uk
Music  Dr Justin Williams justin.williams@bristol.ac.uk
Music UG office (Administrative Contact) sart-musicadmin@bristol.ac.uk
Philosophy Dr Martin Sticker
Religion and Theology Dr Rita Langer  rita.langer@bristol.ac.uk  
Religion UG Admin Team (Administrative Contact) hums-reth-admin@bristol.ac.uk
Russian Ms Elena McNeilly  elena.mcneilly@bristol.ac.uk 
SML UG admin team (Administrative Contact) sml-ugadmin@bristol.ac.uk
Theatre Dr Jan Wozniak jan.wozniak@bristol.ac.uk 
Ms Jenny Lowman (Administrative Contact) sart-theatreadmin@bristol.ac.uk

 Faculty of Engineering

DepartmentNameE-mail
Aerospace Engineering  Dr Andrea Diambra came-erasmus-studyabroad@bristol.ac.uk 
Mrs Roz Okatan (Administrative Contact) came-erasmus-studyabroad@bristol.ac.uk 
Civil Engineering  Dr Andrea Diambra came-erasmus-studyabroad@bristol.ac.uk 
Mrs Janet Woolway-Allen (Administrative Contact) came-erasmus-studyabroad@bristol.ac.uk 
Computer Science Dr Nirav Ajmer
Ms Filomena Dreyer (Administrative Contact) Coms-info@bristol.ac.uk
Electrical and Electronic Engineering Dr Shuangyi Yan
Miss Leanne Jeremy (Administrative Contact) Eeng-info@bristol.ac.uk
Engineering Mathematics  Dr Nikolai Bode nikolai.bode@bristol.ac.uk
Ms Tanya Newton (Administrative Contact) Emat-info@bristol.ac.uk
Mechanical Engineering Dr Andrea Diambra came-erasmus-studyabroad@bristol.ac.uk
Ms Carol Ashby (Administrative Contact) came-erasmus-studyabroad@bristol.ac.uk

 Faculty of Science

DepartmentNameE-mail
Chemistry Dr Carmen Galan m.c.galan@bristol.ac.uk
Ms Rosemary Crosby (Administrative Contact) chem-ug-office@bristol.ac.uk 
Earth Science Dr Matt Watson es-saad@bristol.ac.uk
Miss Julia Davidson (Administrative contact) earth-enquiries@bristol.ac.uk
Geographical sciences Dr Negar Behzadi 
Ms Amy Durbin (Administrative Contact) geog-ugadmin@bristol.ac.uk
Mathematics Dr Martin Sieber (Study abroad in a Modern language) m.sieber@bristol.ac.uk
Mrs Helen Lee (Administrative Contact) math-info@bristol.ac.uk
Dr Feng Yu (Study abroad in English) feng.yu@bristol.ac.uk
Ms Liz Clarke (Administrative contact) math-sam@bristol.ac.uk
Physics Dr Konstantinos Petridis (Study abroad in a Modern language) konstantinos.petridis@bristol.ac.uk
Dr Terence McMaster (study abroad in English) T.McMaster@bristol.ac.uk
Physics UG office (Administrative Contact) phys-ug@bristol.ac.uk

 Faculty of Social Sciences and Law

DepartmentNameE-mail
Accounting and Finance Dr Myada Tawfik 
A&F UG office (Administrative Contact) acfi-ug@bristol.ac.uk
Childhood studies Dr Francisco Palma Carvajal  francisco.palmacarvajal@bristol.ac.uk
SPS UG Office (Administrative Contact) sps-ugadmin@bristol.ac.uk 
Criminology Dr Francisco Palma Carvajal francisco.palmacarvajal@bristol.ac.uk
SPS UG Office (Administrative Contact) sps-ugadmin@bristol.ac.uk 
Economics  Dr Luis Correia  Luis.Correia@bristol.ac.uk 
Nina Bunton (Administrative Contact) econ-ug@bristol.ac.uk
Education  Dr Liz Washbrook liz.washbrook@bristol.ac.uk
Miss Carol Falzon (Administrative Contact) c.falzon@bristol.ac.uk 
Law Dr Yin Harn Lee yinharn.lee@bristol.ac.uk 
Jess Greenland (Administrative Contact) law-ug-office@bristol.ac.uk
Management Dr Vanessa Beck   
Deborah Bruce and Adam Hopton (Administrative Contact) mgmt-ug@bristol.ac.uk
Politics and International studies

Dr Hannah Parrott

Hannah.Parrott@bristol.ac.uk 

TBC

TBC

SPAIS UG office (Administrative Contact)

spais-ug@bristol.ac.uk
Social policy  Dr Francisco Palma Carvajal  francisco.palmacarvajal@bristol.ac.uk
SPS UG Office (Administrative Contact) sps-ugadmin@bristol.ac.uk 
Sociology Dr Hannah Parrott Hannah.Parrott@bristol.ac.uk 
TBC TBC
SPAIS UG office (Administrative Contact) spais-ug@bristol.ac.uk
Edit this page