PM Warren Visiting Professors/Fellows

Each year the Institute hosts a Visiting Professorship/Fellowship in Aegean Prehistory, funded by a generous donation from the Institute for Aegean Prehistory (INSTAP) in honour of Professor Peter Warren on the occasion of his 70th birthday in 2008. The Professorship/Fellowship is open to established scholars working on a project related to the field of Aegean Prehistory (i.e. from the Neolithic period to 776 BC). The Professorship/Fellowship is open to both overseas and UK/EU residents. The duration of tenure is between 4 to a maximum of 10 weeks during term time in an academic year, and carries an emolument of c. £4,000.

Former Visiting Fellows


Dr Ilaria Caloi (Ca’ Foscari University, Venice); Dr Maud Devolder (AEGIS Research Group, Université Catholique de Louvain)

Former Visiting Professors


Professor von Rüden (Bochum); Dr Constantinos Paschalides (Curator of Antiquities, Department of Prehistoric, Egyptian, Cypriot and Oriental Collections, National Archaeological Museum, Athens)


Dr Colin Macdonald (former Knossos Curator and Honorary Fellow of the Department of Classics and Archaeology at Edinburgh)


Dr Peter Tomkins (Leuven)


Dr Metaxia Tsipopoulou (Director of the Petras Excavations)


Professor Diamantis Panagiotopoulos (Heidelberg); Dr Jacke Phillips (SOAS)


Dr Marisa Marthari (Hellenic Ministry of Culture and Sport)


Professor Anne-Louise Shallin (Swedish Institute at Athens)


Professor Cynthia Shelmerdine (Austin, Texas); Professor Krzystof Nowicki (Warsaw)


Professor Helene Whittaker (Gotenburg, formerly Tromso)

Edit this page