• Alastair Stewart

    Alastair Stewart OBE (1970-1973, Hon LLD 2008)

    Alastair is the longest-serving newsreader on British television, and was awarded an OBE in 2006 for his work in broadcasting and for charity.Image credit: ITV News

  • George Ferguson

    George Ferguson CBE (BA 1968, BArch 1971, Hon MA 1999)

    George was appointed a CBE in 2010 for services to architecture, and to the community. He was elected as the first Mayor of Bristol in 2012. 

  • Matthew Baugh

    Matthew Baugh OBE (BA 1994, MSc 1997)

    Matthew was the first British Ambassador to Somalia since the country collapsed into civil war, and received an OBE in 2013 for his contribution to promoting peace and security. He is now Director of the Negotiation Coordination Unit at the Department for Exiting the European Union.

  • Rhiannon Holder

    Rhiannon Holder MBE (BSc 2009)

    Rhiannon was one of the youngest people to be awarded an MBE in the 2010 New Year Honours List, for services to young people's healthcare. She works as a Team Leader for charity Throughcare.

Barry Clarke OBE FRSA (BA 1961)

Former Chair of the International Save the Children Alliance, and Save the Children UK

Professor Joe Brownlie CBE (BVSc 1966, Hon DSc 2013)
Emeritus Professor of Veterinary Pathology, Royal Veterinary College

Professor Cecil McMurray CBE  (PhD 1970)
Non Executive Director at Agri-food Biosciences Institute

Sir Liam Donaldson (MB ChB 1972, Hon MD 1996)
Former Chief Medical Officer of the United Kingdom Government

Dr Jacqueline Cornish OBE FRCP (MB ChB 1972, Hon DSc 2014)
National Clinical Director for Children, Young People and Transition to Adulthood for NHS England

Professor Dame Julia Slingo OBE (BSc 1973, Hon DSc 2010)
Chief Scientist, Met Office

Dr Timothy Palmer CBE FRS (BSc 1974)
Professor in Climate Physics, University of Oxford

Paul Stebbings MBE (BA 1977)
Artistic Director of ADG-Europe and TNT Theatre Britain

Dame Jane Roberts (MB ChB 1980, Hon LLD 2007)
Former Director of Quality and Performance, NHS Islington. Chair of New Local Government Network. 

Sir Jonathan Evans KCB (BA 1980, Hon LLD 2008)
Former Director-General of the British Security Service

Dr Caroline Harper OBE (BSc 1981, Hon DSc 2013)
Chief Executive, Sightsavers

Professor John Collinge CBE FRS (BSc 1981, MB ChB 1984, Hon DSc 2008)
Professor of Neurology and Head of Neurodegenerative Disease at the UCL Institute of Neurology

Professor Lynn Gladden CBE (BSc 1982, Hon DSc 2013)
Shell Professor of Chemical Engineering, and Pro-Vice Chancellor for Research at the University of Cambridge

Michelle McDowell MBE (BSc 1984, Hon DEng 2012)
Director and Chair, Civil and Structural Engineering, BDP

Laura Tomlinson MBE (BSc 2007, Hon LLD 2013)
Team Gold and Individual Bronze, London 2012 Olympic Games