Lord Henry Chilver (BSc 1947, PhD 1951, DSc 1962, Hon DSc 1983) (1927-2012)
Lord Henry was Chair of a number of international mining corporations, and temporary head of the Post Office between 1980 and 1981. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 1977, knighted in 1978, elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1982 and made a life peer in 1987.

John Partridge (BEng 1962)
Founder of Sonardyne, a leading subsea technology manufacturer that was awarded the Queen's Prize for Enterprise in Innovation in 2014.

Dr David Scott (BSc 1983, Hon DEng 2014)
Former President and CEO of Silicon Valley start-up 3PAR, providing equipment that allows companies to store vast amounts of data remotely. In 2010, David sold 3PAR to Hewlett-Packard (HP) for $2.35 billion, before rejoining HP as Senior Vice President for the entire Storage Systems Business.

Helen Franklin (BEng 1989)
Helen is an executive coach and former Global Talent and Learning Director at Wrigley (a subsidiary of Mars Incorporated).

Rob Leslie-Carter (BEng 1992)
In 2008, Rob won the International Project of the Year Award from both the Australian Institute of Project Management and the UK Association for Project Management for managing Arup's design team on the Water Cube in Beijing.

Russell Haines (BEng 1994, PhD 2010)
Chief Standardisation Officer at Toshiba Research Europe Limited. 

Mark Williamson (BEng 1996, PhD 2003)
During his PhD, Mark led a team at Accenture developing software solutions for the London Stock Exchange. He is now co-founder and Director of Action for Happiness, Director of the Carbon Trust’s innovation group, a Sainsbury Management Fellow, a Member of the Institute of Directors and a member of the Institute and Engineering and Technology.

Ben Trewhella (MEng 2001)
Managing Director at Opposable Games which creates apps and games for iPhones.

Dr Nithin Thomas (MEng 2005, PhD 2010)
Winner of the prestigious Shell LiveWIRE 2012 Innovation Award for his work in data security. After graduating, Nithin started a cyber-security company that recently signed a contract with the Ministry of Defence.

João Ginete (MEng 2009)
Senior Assistant Engineer at Atkins, where he specialises in the development of Formula One race car aerodynamics. 

Sophie McPhillips (MEng 2013)
Now Alliance Innovation Manager, Thames Tideway, Sophie was named New Civil Engineer Graduate of the Year 2014. She has worked for Atkins, and completed a placement in Africa with the charity Engineers Without Borders where she worked to provide clean, safe water to rural villages.