Work experience

The University of Bristol is a diverse, challenging and enjoyable place to work. It employs over 5,000 people, ranging from researchers to maintenance staff, and there truly is a career here for everybody.

Every year we offer work experience placements for young people in a wide range of areas. This is a fantastic opportunity to find out more about a career you may be interested in and could also help you decide what to do after your studies.

Work experience placements available within the University

DepartmentDateApproximate number of placesDurationRequirementsContact
Biology June/July 4 to 6 per year 1 week To apply please complete the application form (in 'Work experience' section) April Moody
April.Moody@bristol.ac.uk
Civil, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (Queen's School of Engineering) 2 - 6 July, 2018 Up to 30 1 week Please complete the application form before 15 May 2018. Places will be confirmed by the end of May. Irina Lazar, Alicia Gonzalez-Buelga, Joel Ross
came-outreach@bristol.ac.uk

Computer Science, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, and Engineering Maths

June  Limited  Flexible This opportunity is particularly useful for girls who are thinking about a career in engineering. You will have a keen interest in technology, mathematics and problem solving. For more information, please visit our work experience website . Caroline Higgins
engf-outreach@bristol.ac.uk
Earth Sciences 2 - 6 July, 2018  12 1 week You will need to have an interest in studying or working in Earth sciences in the future. Details of application can be found on the Earth sciences website Sue Amesbury
Sue.Amesbury@bristol.ac.uk
Education May, June or July 2 Flexible None Tom Begbie
Tom.Begbie@bristol.ac.uk
Geography 9 - 13 July, 2018 8 3 days GCSE level (Year 10/11) students only. An interest in Geography at degree level. Jeni Milsom
Jeni.Milsom@bristol.ac.uk
Hospitality Services Flexible Limited Flexible None Lesley Mason
Lesley.Mason@bristol.ac.uk
Physics June or July 2019 12 1 week Places are now full for the 2018 programme. Details of the 2019 programme will be made available later in the year. Molly Hackett
molly.hackett@bristol.ac.uk
Physiology and Pharmacology May, June or July Maximum of 6 students 1 week Please complete the application form by the end of February Debbie Martin
Debbie.Martin@bristol.ac.uk
Edit this page