

CURRENT MEMBERSHIP OF THE UNIVERSITY OF BRISTOL COURT EFFECTIVE FROM 1 AUGUST 2024, (Updated 5 November 2024).

Court membership is set out in <u>statute 6</u> of the University's Statutes and the current membership is listed below:

6.1 Core Members

6.1.1 (a) Elected Members

(i) Alumni Association Representatives

Uwe Brandenburg

Chris Burns

Andrew Carr

Anthony Cole

Jude D'Alesio

Hugh Devlin

Andrew Franks

Anu Ganapathy

Sarah Gilbert

Aristotelis Glykis

Martin Lee

Julian Metcalfe

Hazel Phillips

Jonathan Phillips

Siddhant Shah

Vince Smith

Arun Steward

Martin Lunnon

Brian Toll

Giovanna Tomaro

Keith Walton

Linda Wilson

(ii) Emeriti

Sheila Ellwood

Martin Partington

Stephen Sparks

Gordon Stirrat

Avril Waterman-Pearson

6.1.1 (b) Nominated

(i) Members from civic, cultural and community organisations or bodies

Tom Aditya, Bristol Inter Faith Group/Bristol Multi Faith Forum

Simon Crew, Bristol Trades Union Council

Hannah David, TUC South West

George Ferguson, Tobacco Factory

Peaches Golding OBE, Lord Lieutenant of the City and County of Bristol

Joe McGeehan CBE DL, Society of Merchant Venturers

Paul Hassan, ACH (Ashley Community & Housing Ltd)

Sado Jirde, Black South West Network

Poku Pipim Osei, Babbasa

Alex Raikes MBE, SARI

Clare Reddington, Watershed

Gordon Richardson, Bristol Disability Equality Forum

Samir Savant, St George's Bristol

Donna Speed, We the Curious

Emily Smith, Knowle West Media Centre

Matt Tudor, Bridgwater & Taunton College

Beth Wilson, Barton Hill Settlement

Suzanne Wilson, Ambition Lawrence Weston/Lockleaze Neighbourhood Trust/Southmead Development Trust

(ii) Members from unions, professional organisations, business community and industry or other knowledge-intensive organisations

Rozzy Amos, The Prince's Trust

Zoe Banks Gross, Sustrans

Adrian Bates, GKN Aerospace

Xavier Bell, North Bristol NHS Trust

Carla Denyer MP, MP for Bristol Central

Eva Dietrich, Avon & Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership NHS Trust

Sara Galpin, Environment Agency

Sandra Meadows, VOSCUR

Arjun Parekh, BT

Simon Powell, Rolls Royce plc

Steve Raynes, Airbus

Phil Smith, Bristol Chamber of Commerce (CE)

Lizzi Testani, Bristol Green Capital Partnership

Colin Turner, West of England Aerospace Forum

Emma Wood, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

(iii) Representatives from elected representatives of the City of Bristol and its surrounding areas

TBC Awaiting nomination confirmation from local councils to Governance Team.

6.1.2 (c) Ex Officio Members

(i) Chancellor

Sir Paul Nurse FRS

(ii) Pro-Chancellors

Jacqueline Cornish

Andrew Sheng

Alex Wilmot-Sitwell

(iii) Honorary Fellows

Sir Michael Berry

Denis Burn

Stella Clarke

Sir Angus Deaton

Sir Anthony Epstein CBE FRS

Peter Haggett

Brenda Hale, Baroness Hale of Richmond

Sir John Kingman

Brian Pickering

Moger Woolley

6.2 Additional Appointed Members

Gnisha Bevan, Bristol Energy Network

Andrew Brown, BCC Councillor, Chair of Economy and Skills Committee

Jamie Cameron, Burges Salmon

Camilla Chandler-Mant, South Bristol Consortium for Young People

Ann Cousins, Arup

Andrea Dell. Futures West

Sue Elliot, TILA Trust

Alison Fletcher, Cabot Learning Federation

Martin Fodor, BCC Councillor

Julia Gray, City of Bristol College

Naomi Logan, WECA (Education, Skills and Economy)

Heather Mack, BCC Councillor

Emily Magrath, IntoUniversity

Victoria Matthews, Business West

Ben Mosely, West of England Combined Authority

Alex Richards, Western Training Provider Network

Ed Rowberry, Bristol & Bath Regional Capital

Jane Taylor, Employment, Skills and Lifelong Learning, Bristol City Council

Christine Townsend, BCC Councillor, Chair of Children & Young People Committee

Andrew Street, Fareshare

6.3 Attendees of Court

6.3.1 Invited to Court with the purpose of informing members of Court as required

(a) University employees, who are elected by university employees

Grace Brockington

Jane Church

Charlie Cowley

Donna Exon-Bartlett

Chris Fortune

Rosie Harbour

Toni Henderson

Tanzeela Khalid

Rob Logan

Angela Nansera

Alex Paterson

Emilie Poletto-Lawson

Bradley Shadwell

Sally Smart

Nicolette Smith

Bryn Thomas

Beth Williamson

(b) The elected Sabbatical Officers of the Students' Union

Gurvin Chopra, Postgraduate Education Officer

Bakhtawar Javed, International Students' Officer

Ella Lovibond, Sport & Student Development Officer

Lucy Pears, Student Living Officer

Katie Poyner, Union Affairs Officer

Mia Stevens, Undergraduate Education Officer

Linlu Ye, Equality, Liberation & Access Officer

(c) The Board of Trustees

Membership is listed here: Membership of the Board of Trustees

(d -h) Executive staff in attendance - listed below:

Evelyn Welch MBE, Vice-Chancellor and President

Judith Squires, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost
Michele Acuto, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Global Engagement
lan Bond, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Executive Dean for Science and Engineering
Esther Dermot Pro Vice-Chancellor and Executive Dean for Arts, Law & Social Sciences
Tansy Jessop, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Education and Students
Guy Poppy, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research and Innovation
Jeremy Tavare, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Executive Dean for Health and Life Sciences
Lucinda Parr, Chief Operating Officer, Registrar and University Secretary
Peter Vermeulen, Chief Financial Officer
Michael Flay, Clerk to Court