

# The Gordon Stone Lecture

# and Symposium

School of Chemistry Wednesday 6<sup>th</sup> November 2019, LT1



# Welcome to the Gordon Stone Lecture and Symposium 2019



Professor Charl F J Faul Head, Inorganic & Materials Chemistry

The Gordon Stone Lecture was established in 1991 to recognise Gordon's many distinguished contributions to inorganic and organometallic chemistry, and the part he played in establishing Bristol as a major centre for teaching and research in inorganic chemistry. A list of the distinguished speakers who have given this lecture can be found on the back of this leaflet.

We are privileged that Ben Feringa from the University of Groningen, The Netherlands, will give this year's Gordon Stone Lecture. Ben has made seminal contributions in the areas of molecular nanoscience, synthesis and asymmetric catalysis for which he has received numerous awards including sharing the 2016 Nobel Prize for Chemistry for his work on molecular machines. The work of his group has appeared in over 650 publications and 30 patents.

In addition to the Gordon Stone Lecture, this year we have an outstanding accompanying symposium with contributions from colleagues from the University of Amsterdam and Bristol. We trust that these contributions will highlight the exciting breadth of inorganic and organometallic chemistry.

# SCHOOL OF CHEMISTRY

## PROGRAMME

#### 13:40

Introduction

#### 13:45

**Professor Joost Reek** 

University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands Supramolecular Approaches to Control Activity and Selectivity in Transition Metal Catalysis

#### 14:30

#### **Dr Beatrice Collins**

University of Bristol, UK Metals and Molecular Machines: Studies towards Chemically Fuelled Molecular-Level Motion

#### 15:00

**Dr Natalie Fey** University of Bristol, UK Intelligence from Data: Towards Prediction in Organometallic Catalysis

### 15:30

Tea break

### 16:00

#### 2019 Gordon Stone Lecture

#### **Professor Ben Feringa**

University of Groningen, The Netherlands Dynamic Molecular Systems, from Switches to Motors

### 17:00

Closing remarks followed by a reception in the East Foyer

## **Previous Gordon Stone Lecturers**

1991	FA Cotton	2005	JE Bercaw
1992	R Hoffmann	2006	MLH Green
1993	Lord Lewis	2007	AH Cowley
1994	G Wilke	2008	RH Grubbs
1995	Sir G Wilkinson	2009	MH Chisholm
1996	FGA Stone	2011	I Manners
1997	LF Dahl	2012	K Müllen
1999	EW Abel	2013	G Bertrand
2000	H Schmidbaur	2014	M Brookhart
2001	PM Maitlis	2015	T Marks
2002	AG MacDiarmid	2016	O Eisenstein
2003	WR Roper	2017	D Milstein
2004	H Werner	2018	M Beller





**EPSRC** Centre for Doctoral Training in Catalysis