What you may need to do later

Please note that the following tables are subject to change as workarounds and solutions are discovered for current migration issues. You may want to revisit this page closer to the switch over date.

To do later when or if necessary

Issue/task What you need to know and/or do
'​Conversation view' is the default in Outlook email ​We can't migrate your individual defaults, so have chosen to set 'Conversation view' as on. If you don't want it on, turn it off.
Working hours, if set. does not migrate ​​If you set your working hours in Google calendar, this will not migrate across (note that this is not the same as blocking out time for non-work days, but is for those who have greyed out their non-work hours via Google's settings).
Some conversations might be merged Two email conversations years apart will be grouped in one conversation if they have the same subject (e.g. "Re: meeting"). Only affects conversation view though, otherwise they'll just show as individual emails.
  • See above for links to information on turning conversation view on or off.
​I'm still using Google Drive, etc. How do I access it if I can't access Gmail? Note that only Gmail and Google calendar are being switched off. Other Google apps will remain available for a while. You can access your University Google apps by going to https://www.google.co.uk/ and signing in from there. Use the long version of your username to sign in, e.g. abcde@bristol.ac.uk.
Microsoft Office 365 Groups

You may notice Groups on the left-hand side of Outlook underneath your email folders and in other Office 365 locations.

Groups is a new Microsoft service that allows members of an ad hoc team, project or function to easily set up a collection of resources using Office 365 tools.

Groups that may benefit from working collaboratively in this way could include:

  • Clubs and societies
  • Individual programme and project or research groups
  • Any group of people who are not based in the same organisational unit who need to work collaboratively.

 

It is possible to view and join Groups from various locations including Outlook (Home/Browse Groups in the desktop version. Discover in the web version). If the Group is Private you will be prompted to send a request to the Groups owner(s) to gain access.

 

Can I/how do I create a Group?

Groups are a new product, there is not yet the normal level of support in place and they are supported on a ‘best endeavours’ basis by the Service Desk and the Digital Workspace Programme. It is strongly recommended that you review the different types of Groups (and the various ways you can create them) here: Microsoft’s Learn about Office 365 Groups guidance.

You’ll note that creating a Group will automatically give members a shared mailbox, calendar, SharePoint document Library and more. The Group will also appear within the global address list. Additional people can be added to a Group by any owner at any point, and have access to the information and documents uploaded to the Group so it is imperative all users understand and take this into account when working with sensitive or restricted material.

Before you do create a Group, always use the search or Discover option to look at existing groups to check that you are not duplicating a group that already exists which could meet your requirements. If the Group does exist, request to join it. If you do need to create a group, choose a sensible name that is fewer than 20 characters (if possible) and is clear for all users. For example, instead of “Cricket Club” consider “Staff Cricket Club”, “Student Cricket Club” or “Arts Faculty Cricket Club”.


Also bear in mind that as a Group Owner you will be responsible for certain tasks including:

  • Making a group Public or Private
  • Choosing a backup/deputy owner
  • Setting up fellow users with access
  • Moderating the group mailbox (deleting spam etc.)
  • Reviewing the group membership on a regular basis (monthly)
  • Reviewing the sharing audience on a regular basis (monthly)

If you have created a Group in error, or if it has served its purpose please delete it. Note this will permanently remove everything associated with that Group, including group conversations, calendar events, SharePoint site and files.