Results - 2018


  • University Award for Education (Arts): Professor Gavin D’Costa
  • University Award for Education (Biomedical Sciences): MSci Research Training Team, School of Biochemistry (Professor Mark Dillingham, Dr Alice Robson, Dr Kara van Aelst)
  • University Award for Education (Engineering):Dr Tilo Burghardt
  • University Award for Education (Health Sciences):  Year 1 MB21 Team, Bristol Medical School, Centre for Applied Anatomy and School of Physiology, Pharmacology & Neuroscience (Dr Sarah Allsop, Dr Joanna Howarth, Joe McAllister)
  • University Award for Education (Science): Professor Walther Schwarzacher
  • University Award for Education (Social Sciences and Law): Hannah Quinn
  • University Award for Enhancing the Student Learning Experience: Kit Leighton-Kelly
  • University Educational Initiative Award: CCC Virtual Reality Enzymology Group, School of Chemistry (Dr Simon Bennie, Helen Deeks, David Glowacki, Mike O’Connor, Dr Kara Ranaghan, Dr Chris Russell and Dr Becky Sage).
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching (Arts): Anna Oliver Barreda
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching (Biomedical Sciences): Professor Nigel Savery
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching (Engineering): Dr Naim Dahnoun
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching (Health Sciences): Andrew Grist
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching (Science): Professor Gary Foster
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching (Social Sciences and Law): Meg Attwood
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching by a Postgraduate Student: Peter Peasey
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Supervision of Research Students: Professor John Coggon and Dr Oliver Quick
  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Support: Dr Ali Mokrane

The MB21 Team were selected from the 17 winners to receive the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Education.  This year a brand-new curriculum (MB21) has been launched to replace the existing one in Medicine. This has taken several years to reach fruition; from the outset, the wider MB21 team took an evidence-based approach and reviewed the educational literature to guide the pedagogical philosophy of MB21. The translation of these ideas has been led by the MB21 year 1 team; they have done a fantastic job in delivering a new innovative and exciting curriculum, following an admirably consultative design process, which has already been getting very positive feedback from students. The team have delivered an inspiring basis for the subsequent years of the programme to follow and has given our students a fantastic start to their medical education.

A posthumous Special Recognition Award was given to Liz Roberts for her outstanding work supporting student communities and education processes.

View more photos from the Awards dinner and ceremony

Edit this page