University of Bristol Ethics of Research Committee

University of Bristol Ethics of Research Committee





Pro Vice-Chancellor (Chair)

Professor Nick Lieven

ex officio

Co-opted member

Dr Chris Wright


Co-opted member

Mr Peter Estlin


Co-opted member

Dr Merlin Goldman


Deputy University Secretary/their delegated attendee

Ms Sue Paterson/Mr Matthew Morrison

ex officio

The Director of Research &Enterprise Development

Dr David Langley

ex officio

Member from Faculty of Arts, appointed by Senate

Dr Giles Pearson


Member from Faculty of Engineering, appointed by Senate

Professor Mike Fraser


Member from Faculty of Biomedical Sciences, appointed by Senate

Dr Ingeborg Hers


Member from Faculty of Health Sciences, appointed by Senate

Professor Rachael Gooberman-Hill


Member from Faculty of Science, appointed by Senate

Dr Nina Kazanina  

Member from Faculty of Social Sciences & Law, appointed by Senate

Professor Jutta Weldes


Co-opted member

Professor Innes Cuthill


Terms of Reference 

For the terms of reference of the University of Bristol Ethics of Research Committee, please refer to the Standing Order on Committees of the Board of Trustees (PDF, 91kB)

Meeting dates 2016/17

Wednesday 9 November 2016

Wednesday 8 March 2017

Thursday 8 June 2017

Committee Secretary 

Rachel Davies, (0117) 331 7332