University Management Team

The University Management Team advises the University Executive Board on strategic, operational and academic matters.

Responsibilities and terms of reference

The University Management Team meets at key points within the annual strategic planning cycle to provide advice and input to significant issues effecting the delivery of University strategy and operations.

The team supports the University Executive Board in:

  • identifying emerging issues, trends, risks and opportunities for higher education
  • challenging established ways of thinking
  • contributing to the formulation of new plans, policies, strategies, initiatives, projects and programmes of University-wide significance
  • undertaking horizon-scanning of the environment in which the University operates.


The University Management Team has 33 members:

  • Professor Hugh Brady, Vice-Chancellor and President (Chair)
  • Professor Judith Squires, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost
  • Professor Tansy Jessop, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Education
  • Appointment in progress, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Global Engagement
  • Professor John Iredale, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Health and Life Sciences
  • Professor Phil Taylor, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research and Enterprise
  • Professor Sarah Purdy, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Student Experience
  • Robert Kerse, Chief Operating Officer
  • Lucinda Parr, Registrar and University Secretary
  • Professor Karla Pollmann, Dean of Arts
  • Professor Ian Bond, Dean of Engineering
  • Professor Jane Norman, Dean of Health Sciences
  • Professor Jeremy Tavare, Dean of Life Sciences
  • Professor Jens Marklof, Dean of Science
  • Professor Simon Tormey, Dean of Social Sciences and Law
  • Mick Axtell, Chief Financial Services Officer
  • Keith Woolley, Chief Information Officer
  • Claire Buchanan, Chief People Officer
  • Barra Mac Ruairi, Chief Property Officer
  • Jane Bridgwater, Deputy University Secretary and Director of Legal Services
  • Andrew Monk, Director of Development and Alumni Relations
  • Alicia O’Grady, Executive Director of External Relations
  • Ed Fay, Director of Library Services
  • Steve Chadwick, Director of Planning, Strategy and Change
  • Matt Birch, Director of Sport, Exercise and Health
  • Paula Coonerty, Executive Director for Education and Student Experience and Academic Registrar
  • Jon Hunt, Executive Director, Research and Enterprise
  • Michelle Coupland, Faculty Manager of Arts
  • Mary Millard, Faculty Manager of Engineering
  • Andrew Pearce, Faculty Manager of Health Sciences
  • Stephen Brooke, Faculty Manager of Life Sciences
  • Jessica Inglis, Faculty Manager of Science
  • Dominic Freda, Faculty Manager of Social Sciences and Law

When members are unable to attend a meeting they can send another member of University staff on their behalf.

Committee secretary

Meeting dates and paper submission deadlines 2021/22

Note that University Management Team will not meet in 2021/22 due to the increased frequency of University Executive Board meetings.

  • Monday 4 October 2021, 10am
    (Paper deadline 29 September 2021, midday)
  • Monday 15 November 2021, 10am
    (Paper deadline 10 November 2021, midday)
  • Monday 7 February 2022, 10am
    (Paper deadline 2 February 2022, midday)
  • Monday 28 March 2022, 10am
    (Paper deadline 23 March 2022, midday)
  • Monday 23 May 2022, 10am
    (Paper deadline 18 May 2022, midday)
  • Monday 4 July 2022, 10am
    (Paper deadline 29 June 2022, midday)

Meeting summaries

The meeting summaries of previous University Management Team meetings are available to download (University of Bristol access only).

University organisational structure

View the management and organisational structures at the University. 

Edit this page