Foundations in Medical Education Programme

Who is it for? It is aimed at colleagues in the Clinical Academies who are actively involved in teaching University of Bristol student doctors.

Why is it important? Much of the teaching for medical students is undertaken by clinicians and health professionals working in the NHS. Learning takes place in a range of contexts and this means that medical educators need to be adaptable. This course offers support to colleagues in the the Clinical Academies who might not be able to access other programmes to update their teaching skills. The General Medical Council also expect anyone involved in undergraduate medical education to be engaged with CPD that is relevant to teaching and learning.

Do I need it? You won't need to do this course if you are already undertaking a PG Certificate in medical education or the equivalent or if you don't teach Bristol undergraduate medical students.

What's involved? The course is delivered in each academy and consists of four sessions that cover those aspects of contemporary medical education that are most relevant to teaching student doctors. There are two runs of each session. Each session is mapped onto the Higher Education Academy Professional Standards Framework and also takes into account the Academy of Medical Educators professional standards.

Course materials are available via Blackboard; accessible to registered participants only. Please click this link and use the log-in and password provided during Session 1. 

FMed Content and Learning Outcomes:

Session 1: Designing and planning your teaching

  • Update on trends in medical education
  • Basic principles of planning your teaching
    • Defining learning outcomes
    • Designing content
    • Evaluating your teaching

 Session 2: Facilitating small group learning

  • Role of the educator
    • Facilitation skills
    • Dealing with diversity
  • Small group techniques
    • Designing group activities
    • Creating resources

Session 3: Giving effective feedback

  • Purpose of feedback
    • Formative versus summative assessment
    • Developing learner competency
  • Role and responsibility of the educator
    • Improving learner performance
    • Stimulating critical reflection
  • Models and framework for feedback provision 

 Session 4: Teaching and learning in the workplace

  • Exploring the workplace as a learning environment
    • Benefits and challenges
    • Collaborative practice and learning
  • Role and responsibility of the educator
    • Supporting/supervising the learner
    • Teaching with patients
    • Teaching professionalism
  • Models for teaching when time is limited

Dates and Booking:

Session 1

Date Location Click here to book
Run 1
Tuesday 25 September 2018 Weston Book here
Tuesday 16 October 2018 Gloucester Book here
Wednesday 17 October 2018 Southmead Book here
Thursday 18 October 2018 Yeovil Book here
Friday 19 October 2018 Bath Book here
Run 2
Tuesday 19 February 2019 Bath Booking available soon
Wednesday 20 February 2019 Taunton Booking available soon
Thursday 21 February 2019 Bristol - Venue TBC Booking available soon 
Friday 22 February 2019 Swindon  Booking available soon

Session 2

Date Location Click here to book
Run 1
Friday 26 October 2018 Weston Book here
Tuesday 13 November 2018 Gloucester Book here
Wednesday 14 November 2018 Yeovil Book here
Thursday 15 November 2018 Bath Book here
Friday 16 November 2018 Southmead Book here
Run 2
Tuesday 12 March 2019 Bath Booking available soon
Wednesday 13 March 2019 Taunton Booking available soon 
Thursday 14 March 2019 Bristol - Venue TBC Booking available soon
Friday 15 March 2019 Swindon  Booking available soon

Session 3

Date Location

Click here to book

Run 1
Thursday 22 November 2018 Weston Book here
Tuesday 11 December 2018 Gloucester Book here
Wednesday 12 December 2018 Bath Book here
Thursday 13 December 2018 Yeovil Book here
Friday 14 December 2018 Southmead Book here
Run 2
Tuesday 9 April 2019 Bath Booking available soon
Wednesday 10 April 2019 Taunton Booking available soon 
Thursday 11 April 2019 Swindon Booking available soon 
Friday 12 April 2019 Bristol - Venue TBC Booking available soon 

 Session 4

Date Location Click here to book
Run 1
Monday 10 December 2018 Weston Book here
Tuesday 15 January 2019 Bath Book here
Wednesday 16 January 2019 Southmead Book here
Thursday 17 January 2019 Gloucester Book here
Friday 18 January 2019 Yeovil Book here
Run 2
Tuesday 14 May 2019 Bath Booking available soon
Wednesday 15 May 2019 Taunton Booking available soon 
Thursday 16 May 2019 Bristol - Venue TBC Booking available soon 
Friday 17 May 2019 Swindon Booking available soon 
Edit this page