Foundations in Medical Education Programme

This new course is a replacement to the very successful Fit2Teach programme and commenced in October 2017.

Who is it for? It is aimed at colleagues in the Clinical Academies who teach University of Bristol student doctors.

Why is it important? Much of the teaching for medical students is undertaken by clinicians and health professionals working in the NHS. Learning takes place in a range of contexts and this means that medical educators need to be adaptable. This course offers support to colleagues in the the Clinical Academies who might not be able to access other programmes to update their teaching skills. The General Medical Council also expect anyone involved in undergraduate medical education to be engaged with CPD that is relevant to teaching and learning.

Do I need it? You won't need to do this course if you are already undertaking a PG Certificate in medical education or the equivalent or if you don't teach Bristol undergraduate medical students.

What's involved? The course is delivered in each academy and consists of four sessions that cover those aspects of contemporary medical education that are most relevant to teaching student doctors. There are two runs of each session and you will need to attend all four (in order) to get your certificate of completion. Each session is mapped onto the Higher Education Academy Professional Standards Framework and also takes into account the Academy of Medical Educators professional standards.

Session 1: Designing and planning your teaching

  • Update on trends in medical education
  • Basic principles of planning your teaching
    • Defining learning outcomes
    • Designing content
    • Evaluating your teaching
Session Date Location Click here to book
Run 1
1 Monday 16 October 2017 Taunton Session 1 - Taunton
1 Tuesday 17 October 2017 Southmead Session 1 - Southmead
1 Wednesday 18 October 2017 Swindon Session 1 - Swindon
1 Thursday 19 October 2017 Gloucester Session 1 - Gloucester
1 Friday 20 October 2017 Bath Session 1 - Bath
Run 2
1 Monday 26 February 2018 Bath  Session 1 - Bath
1 Tuesday 27 February 2018 UHBristol  Session 1 - UHBristol
1 Wednesday 28 February 2018 Swindon  Session 1 - Swindon
1 Thursday 1 March 2018 Taunton  Session 1 - Taunton
1 Friday 2 March 2018 Gloucester  Session 1 - Gloucester

 Session 2: Facilitating small group learning

  • Role of the educator
    • Facilitation skills
    • Dealing with diversity
  • Small group techniques
    • Designing group activities
    • Creating resources
Session Date Location Click here to book
Run 1
2 Monday 13 November 2017 Bath  Session 2 - Bath
2 Tuesday 14 November 2017 Southmead  Session 2 - Southmead
2 Wednesday 15 November 2017 Gloucester  Session 2 - Gloucester
2 Thursday 16 November 2017 Swindon  Session 2 - Swindon
2 Friday 17 November 2017 Taunton  Session 2 - Taunton
Run 2
2 Monday 12 March 2018 Taunton  Session 2 - Taunton
2 Tuesday 13 March 2018 Gloucester  Session 2 - Gloucester
2 Wednesday 14 March 2018 Bath  Session 2 - Bath
2 Thursday 15 March 2018 UHBristol  Session 2 - UHBristol
2 Friday 16 March 2018 Swindon  Session 2 - Swindon

Session 3: Giving effective feedback

  • Purpose of feedback
    • Formative versus summative assessment
    • Developing learner competency
  • Role and responsibility of the educator
    • Improving learner performance
    • Stimulating critical reflection
  • Models and framework for feedback provision 
Session Date Location

Click here to book

Run 1
3 Monday 11 December 2017 Southmead  Session 3 - Southmead
3 Tuesday 12 December 2017 Swindon  Session 3 - Swindon
3 Wednesday 13 December 2017 Bath  Session 3 - Bath
3 Thursday 14 December 2017 Gloucester  Session 3 - Gloucester
3 Friday 15 December 2017 Taunton  Session 3 - Taunton
Run 2
3 Monday 16 April 2018 Gloucester  Session 3 - Gloucester
3 Tuesday 17 April 2018 Swindon  Session 3 - Swindon
3 Wednesday 18 April 2018 Taunton  Session 3 - Taunton
3 Thursday 19 April 2018 UHBristol  Session 3 - UHBristol
3 Friday 20 April 2018 Bath  Session 3 - Bath

 Session 4: Teaching and learning in the workplace

  • Exploring the workplace as a learning environment
    • Benefits and challenges
    • Collaborative practice and learning
  • Role and responsibility of the educator
    • Supporting/supervising the learner
    • Teaching with patients
    • Teaching professionalism
  • Models for teaching when time is limited
Session Date Location Click here to book
Run 1
4 Monday 15 January 2018 Swindon  Session 4 - Swindon
4 Tuesday 16 January 2018 Taunton  Session 4 - Taunton
4 Wednesday 17 January 2018 Bath  Session 4 - Bath
4 Thursday 18 January 2018 Gloucester  Session 4 - Gloucester
4 Friday 19 January 2018 UHBristol  Session 4 - UHBristol
Run 2
4 Monday 14 May 2018 Swindon  Session 4 - Swindon
4 Tuesday 15 May 2018 Bath  Session 4 - Bath
4 Wednesday 16 May 2018 Taunton  Session 4 - Taunton
4 Thursday 17 May 2018 UHBristol  Session 4 - UHBristol
4 Friday 18 May 2018 Gloucester  Session 4 - Gloucester

Course materials are available via Blackboard; accessible to registered participants only. Please click this link and use the log-in and password provided during Session 1. 

If your query relates to a previously attended Fit2teach course, please email the office tlhp-workshops@Bristol.ac.uk

Edit this page