How to delete content

Applies to: Zope, Plone, T4 Site Manager
Last updated: 24/10/2014
Summary: How to remove old content and why you must redirect users to a new page if you delete one.

Site administrators are responsible for ensuring:

  • content on their site is up-to-date;
  • old, out of date or irrelevant content is removed;
  • appropriate redirects are set up when content is moved, renamed or deleted.

Removing documents and images

Ensure that all unwanted content is removed from your:

  • images/documents folder (Zope, Plone)
  • T4 Site Manager media library folder
  • Apache media folder

How to delete content in T4 Site Manager

You must delete a ‘Section’ and its ‘Content block’ separately: content within a section should be deleted first, followed by deletion of the the section.

Removing content completely

If you make a piece of content inactive by deleting it, it disappears from the live site and will be permanently deleted at the next 'purge'.

Removing content from view on the website

To temporarily remove content, first delete the content and then delete the section afterwards if necessary.

Wait for a full publish cycle to complete overnight then modify the same content to 'Save as draft'. Be careful not to use the 'Update' or 'Update and approve' buttons until you're ready for the content to go live: subsequent edits to draft content should always be 'saved as draft'.

If you have deleted the section, wait for a full publish cycle to complete overnight then modify the section again: in the General tab set the status to 'Pending'.

When you are ready for the pages to be visible again, update and approve the content and set the section to 'Approved'.

How to delete content in Plone

In Plone you can delete or retract content:

  • Deleted content is removed from the public site and is added to the ‘Wastebasket’. The ‘Wastebasket’ is periodically emptied; once emptied, content cannot be restored.
  • Retracted content is retained within your web folder. You can add a redirect to a web page when it is retracted (use the redirects tab).

Why you should use redirects

If you have to remove or rename a web page, you must set up a redirect to ensure any users who have bookmarked the page will be redirected to its new location or to an alternative page. If a redirect is not set up, users will reach a dead end.

Archiving a website

To archive an entire website, see archiving a website.