Awarded EPSRC IAA projects 2017-20

Find also EPSRC IAA awarded projects from 2012-17

Computer Science, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, and Engineering Maths (SCEEM)

Dr Alin Achim, Exploratory award for BLINE: Automated Boundary Detection and Line Identification in Speckle Images with Toshiba Medical Systems UK (now Canon Medical Systems UK)

Professor Dave Bull, Exploratory award for Standardisation of ViSTRA video compression technology

Professor Dave Bull, Exploratory award for Media Immersion Measurement Service (MIMS) with BBC R&D and Aardman Animations

Professor Ian Craddock, Knowledge Transfer Secondment award for Accelerated Clinical Impact from SPHERE and EurVALVE with North Bristol NHS Trust

Xenofon Fafoutis, Networking award for Array of Things (AoT)

Dr Nathan Lepora, Commercialisation award for Tactile Smart Grasping System with Shadow Robot Company

Professor Kevin Morris, Knowledge Transfer Secondment award for Efficient 5G Transmitter Secondment with Sony Europe Ltd

Professor John Rarity, Exploratory award for The Light Entanglement: A Quantum Photonics Graphic Novel (Chapter 1- Pilot Episode) with Knowle West Media Centre, Hamilton House and North Bristol Community Project.

Professor Jonathan Rossiter, Exploratory award for Dielectrophoretic Liquid Zipping Actuators: technology demonstrators

Dr Bernard Stark, Commercialisation award for Zero Power Detector – Spin Out Company Formation with 2D Consulting Ltd 

Dr Olivia Stodieck, Early Career Kickstarter award for Investigating the industrial application of a modular beam for performance improvements in unmanned aircraft with SME, Trokili 

Civil, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (CAME)

Professor Stuart Burgess, Exploratory award for Super-efficient chain drives: Royal Society Summer Science Exhibition with Renold Chain

Professor Bruce Drinkwater, Commercialisation award for Metasonics

Professor Stephen Hallett, Knowledge Transfer Secondment award for Design Software Tools for Automated Fibre Placement Composite Fan Blades with Rolls-Royce PLC

Professor Ben Hicks, Exploratory award for Application of the Urban-ID Systems and Co-production Approach to the Bristol ‘One City Plan’ with Bristol City Council

Dr Jason Jiang, Exploratory award for Suppression of Offshore Wind Turbine Nacelle and Foundation Vibrations Using Inerter-based Absorbers with Atkins

Dr Eric Kim, Exploratory award for Improvement of High-performance Formula One Race-car Components using Fibre Steering Technology with Renault Sport Racing

Professor Robert Smith, Exploratory award for Enhanced Non-destructive Imaging of Marine Composites with Minton, Treharne & Davies Ltd, AEL, Marine Concepts Ltd, BAE Systems Naval Ships, QinetiQ Ltd, Landrover BAR, Wavelength NDT, National Composites Centre (NCC), Lloyds Register.

School of Biochemisty

Dr Steven Burston, Knowledge Transfer Secondment award for Development of Prototype High-Throughput Liquid Handling Protocols to Industrial Standards with Zentraxa Ltd

Dr Paul Race, Exploratory award for Use of peptides as novel adhesives

School of Chemistry

Professor Craig Butts, Knowledge Transfer Secondment award for Accelerating Drug-Discovery with Improved Empirical NMR Equations with C4X Discovery

Professor Anthony Davis, Commercialisation award. 

Professor Carmen Galan, Knowledge Transfer Secondment award for Fluorescent Carbon Dots as probes for rapid detection of bacteria in physiological samples with FluoretiQ Ltd and Gateshead Health NHS

Dr Adam Perriman, Commercialisation award for Development of a modular chemistry-based platform for cell membrane reengineering (1) with Consilium Bio Ltd

Dr Adam Perriman, Commercialisation award for Development of a modular chemistry-based platform for cell membrane reengineering (2) with Cytoseek 

School of Earth Sciences

Dr Richard Brooker, Knowledge Transfer Secondment award for Assessing the toxicity potential of deep sea mining of polymetallic sulphides in the Indian Ocean for the German Federal Government with the Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources (BGR), Germany

Dr Simon Kohn, Knowledge Transfer Secondment award for QUIDDIT, software for automated fitting of infrared spectra of diamonds, to distinguish natural, treated and synthetic gemstones with De Beers Technologies

School of Mathematics

Dr Amogh Rajanna, Early Career Kickstarter award for Power Efficient Adaptive Coding Schemes for Space Communication Systems with University of Mississippi

Professor Andrew Hogg, Exploratory award for Topographic uncertainty in the assessment of flood risk with JBA Trust

School of Oral and Dental Sciences

Dr Michele Barbour, Knowledge Transfer Secondment award for Resilient, wear-proof films for sustained maintenance of an anti-infective environment with Pertinax Pharma Ltd

School of Physics

Professor Tom Scott, Exploratory award for Crawling Around in the Winfrith (Radioactive) Pipeline with Magnox and ImiTec Ltd 


Find also EPSRC IAA awarded projects from 2012-17