When you leave the University, you are no longer entitled to use the University's computing facilities. This document describes the processes used to inform people that their accounts are scheduled for deletion prior to their removal.
A regular check is made against central staff and student database of all those with current computing accounts. Once this is done, individuals who appear to have left, or be about to leave the University are sent warning messages .
Undergraduates are warned when they appear to have left within the last week, their accounts are locked 2 weeks after the warning and deleted a week later
Postgraduates are warned once they appear to have left more than 14 days ago; their accounts are locked 2 weeks after the warning and deleted a week later
Staff are warned 5 weeks and 1 week before their recorded date of leaving They receive a final warning once they appear to have left more than 14 days ago. Their accounts are locked 2 weeks after the final warning and deleted a week later
The warning messages, which are always sent to the Bristol email address, give information on how to proceed, including what to do if some error appears to have occurred. Honorary staff may find the list of divisional and faculty personnel contacts to be useful.
If you receive a warning because your entry in the central database is wrong, you should immediately contact your HR contact or your departmental / school administrator. Correcting the database will automatically feed through into the appropriate extension to your account.
Whilst IT services are able to intervene and manually extend accounts, this is only done in emergencies, and with the proper authority. If there will be a gap between formal appointments, or courses, and the University requires you to retain access to your account, then you should be made an honorary member of staff for the intervening period
All accounts on central computing facilities ( with the exception of the Library Catalogue (Aleph) and Calendar entries) are deleted in the automatic deletion process. This includes email and related services such as Sympa mailing lists, shared mailboxes and SmartSieve settings, the UOB domain, interactive system and Blackboard accounts.
A list of shared mailbox accounts to be removed are included in the warning message.
The possibility that you will be returning does not automatically qualify you to retain your account - before you formally register for a new course you are not a member of the University. If you have a gmail for life account as a student, this will, of course remain. If your department / school requires you to retain access to computing facilities in the interim, they should make you an honorary member of staff.
It can be surprising the amount of information which accumulates and it is important to set aside time, as much as a full working day, before leaving the University to ensure that you sort out any computing accounts you have used or created so that information or ownership of accounts, databases or mailing lists are deleted or passed on to colleagues.
Some examples include:
Students with a Google 'email for life' account, email@example.com, will be able to use this address after they leave the University. Please note that the address firstname.lastname@example.org will stop working.
When you leave the University your UoB email account managed by the University will be deleted and you will be unable to send or receive email. It is not possible for us to re-direct email sent to your old Bristol email account to a new address. Remember to tell people who email you regularly that your account will be closing. You may also wish to contact any employers you may have applied for jobs with and supply an alternative email address.
The University offers an email forwarding service to new graduates. An @bristolalumni.org.uk address is ideal for use on your CV, job application or LinkedIn. This is a forwarding service, not a full email account (you can't store email there). You can sign up for an alumni address any time, even before you graduate. To get your address go to <http://www.bris.ac.uk/alumni/current-students/newgrads/> and register with the Alumni site. When asked for an activation code enter your student number, which is printed on your student card.
Please be aware that this email address will be completely separate from your existing Bristol email account and it will not be possible to transfer or re-direct email from one account to the other.