Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Steering Group

Professor Nishan Canagarajah - Chair of the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Steering Group

Our University Strategy presents an opportunity to take our commitments to equality, diversity and inclusion to the next level, attracting and supporting a more diverse staff and student body than ever before.

The Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Steering Group offers a strategically focused approach to these areas, identifying and implementing key mission critical activity that will influence demonstrable change and challenge accepted norms.

We aim to be creative in our thinking and bold in our recommendations, going beyond risk-based compliance to an approach that ensures the richness and diversity of society are reflected and celebrated in our staff and student experience.

EDI Steering Group Members

Nishan Canagarajah (Chair)

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research & Enterprise)

Mark Ames

Director of Student Services

Alvin Birdi

Academic Director of Undergraduate Studies

Tracy Brunnock

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Manager

Samantha Budd

Chief Executive, Bristol SU

Sue Clyne

Head of Organisational Development and Deputy HR Director

Lucy Collins

Head of UK Student Recruitment

Paula Coonerty

Academic Registrar

Deborah Wilson

Faculty Research DirectorDepartment of Management

Desiree Ibekwe

Equality, Access and Liberation Officer, Bristol SU

Susan Harrow

Head of School of Modern Languages

Rashi Jain

Senior University Lawyer

Jonathan Sandy

Dean of Health Sciences

Edit this page