Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Steering Group

Our University Strategy presents an opportunity to take our commitments to equality, diversity and inclusion to the next level, attracting and supporting a more diverse staff and student body than ever before.
As a first step the EDI Steering Group has been convened to offer a strategically focused approach to these areas, identifying and implementing key mission critical activity that will influence demonstrable change and challenge accepted norms.
We aim to be creative in our thinking and bold in our recommendations, going beyond risk-based compliance to an approach that ensures the richness and diversity of society are reflected and celebrated in our staff and student experience.

Professor Nishan Canagarajah, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research and Enterprise)

EDI Steering Group Terms of Reference and Membership (PDF, 162kB)

EDI Steering Group Member Name

Nishan Canagarajah (Chair) Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research & Enterprise)
Mark Ames Director of Student Services
Alvin Birdi Academic Director of Undergraduate Studies
Tracy Brunnock  Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Manager
Samantha Budd Chief Executive, Bristol SU
Sue Clyne Head of Organisational Development and Deputy HR Director
Lucy Collins Head of UK Student Recruitment
Paula Coonerty Academic Registrar
Susan Harrow Head of School for Modern Languages
Desiree Ibekwe Equality, Access and Liberation Officer, Bristol SU
Rashi Jain  Senior University Lawyer
Jonathan Sandy Dean of Health Sciences
Deborah Wilson Faculty Research Director, Social Sciences and Law
EDI Steering Group Meeting DatesMinutes  
4 November 2016 4 November 2016 (PDF, 246kB)                        
18 January 2017 18 January 2017 (PDF, 255kB)
20 March 2017 20 March 2017 (PDF, 247kB) 
17 May 2017 17 May 2017 (PDF, 248kB)
10 July 2017 10 July 2017 (PDF, 256kB) 
9 October 2017  
16 January 2018  
27 March 2018  
14 May 2018