View all news

Cabot Institute Innovation Fund winners 2017

20 November 2017

Winners of this year's Cabot Institute Innovation Fund have been announced. The funds are aimed at supporting bold, ambitious, and impactful ideas, that transcend disciplinary boundaries. It offers us an opportunity to invite new ideas from our research community – those that might not receive funding from traditional sources, but which show real intellectual or practical promise.

The Cabot Institute Innovation Fund is an annual open call of approximately £30,000 derived from generous gifts and donations to the Cabot Institute. Those who apply for funds must reflect the Cabot Institute’s interdisciplinary and engaged research approach, which brings together multiple disciplines and/or non-academic partners. 
Once again, we were delighted to receive fantastic applications across all the Cabot Institute themes of global change, water, low carbon energy, food security, natural hazards and future cities and communities.
The following were successful in their bid and we would like to congratulate them on their awards. Click the links to find out more. 
Funded Projects, 2017-2018:
Investigators: Dann Mitchell (Geographical Sciences), Paul Valdes (Geographical Sciences), Richard Morris (School of Social and Community Medicine), Alice Venn (Faculty of Social Sciences and Law)
Sam Williamson (Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Electrical Energy Management Group), Caroline Bird (School for Policy Studies), Chris Preist (Department of Computer Science), Daniel Bentham (EDF – R&D Smart Customers), Merlin Hyman (Regen)
Sam Williamson (Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Electrical Energy Management Group), Biraj Gautam (PEEDA), Anh Tran (Humanitarian Engineering, Coventry University)
Paul Bates (Hydrology Group, Geographical Sciences), Jamie Evans (Personal Finance Research Centre, Geographical Sciences), David Manley (Spatial Modelling Group, Geographical Sciences)
Michael Lee (School of Veterinary Sciences), Judith Capper (Livestock Sustainability Consultancy, Harwell, Oxfordshire), David Barrett (School of Veterinary Sciences), Taro Takahashi (School of Veterinary Sciences), Mhairi Gibson (Department of Archaeology and Anthropology, School of Arts)
Matthew Watson (Earth Sciences), Tom Richardson (Aerospace Engineering)
Marianna Dudley (Historical Studies), Katerina Michaelides (Geography)
Karen Bell (CUPPR, School for Policy Studies, Faculty of Social Science and Law), Laura Dickinson (Civil Engineering, Faculty of Engineering), Lynn-Marie Sardinha (CSPSJ, School for Policy Studies, Faculty of Social Science and Law), Marcelo Zaiduni (Bolivian Campaign for Right to Education/Red Tinku Bolivia), Alvaro Zapata (Red Tinku Bolivia)
Dr Frances Cooper (Earth Sciences), Dr Byron Adams (Earth Sciences), Dr Daniel Haines (History) 
Dr Flavia de Luca (Civil Engineering), Dr Dina Damen (Computer Science) 
Investigators: Jon Blundy (Earth Sciences), Alice Cunningham (Artist in Residence)
Jonathan De Oliveira (History), Jeremie Joannes (Aerospace Engineering) 

Further information

For more information about the awards or the next round of Cabot Innovation Funds (scheduled June 2018) please contact

If you would be interested in sponsoring the Cabot Institute Innovation Fund and helping drive discovery faster than would otherwise be possible, please contact Katie McKeogh

We are extremely grateful to our donors, without whom, we could not support the range of excellent projects described in this report. Your generosity has helped support young researchers to develop their careers, facilitated new projects amongst award-winning scientists, pump-primed future research proposals, established global networks, and supported real-world impacts.

Edit this page