Bristol Poetry Institute Annual Reading 2018: Alice Oswald

29 November 2018, 6.00 PM - 29 November 2018, 7.00 PM

Alice Oswald

Great Hall, Wills Memorial Building, BS8 1RJ

The Bristol Poetry Institute is delighted to invite members of the public and university alike to this year's annual poetry reading. We are very pleased to announce that this year's reader will be Alice Oswald. The event will comprise of a poetry reading by Alice Oswald, followed by a question and answer session with the audience. A book signing will follow the event. Tickets are free but registration is required.

Alice Oswald studied Classics at Oxford and then trained as a gardener. She worked in gardens for seven years before publishing her first book of poems, THE THING IN THE GAP-STONE STILEwhich won the Forward Prize in 1996. She was writer-in-residence at Dartington Hall from 1996-8 and there wrote her long poem DART, which won the T.S. Eliot prize in 2002. Other collections have won the inaugural Ted Hughes award (WEEDS AND WILDFLOWERS), the Hawthornden prize (A SLEEPWALK ON THE SEVERN) and the Warwick prize (MEMORIAL). In 2009 she won a Cholmondeley award for her contribution to poetry. She is married with three children and lives in Devon.

Her new collection, FALLING AWAKE, was published by Jonathan Cape in July 2016, was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best Collection 2016 and the T.S. Eliot Prize 2016, and was the winner of the Costa Poetry Award 2016. In June 2017 she was awarded the International Griffin Poetry Prize 2017

Get tickets

The event is organised with the support of the Institute of Greece, Rome, and the Classical Tradition.

Contact information

General queries should be directed to:; queries regarding access should be sent to:

The poet Alice Oswald (above) will deliver this year's Bristol Poetry Institute annual reading. Image © Kate Mount

Edit this page